Finally some Sunshine!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur » Loreto
July 15th 2002
Published: July 15th 2002
Edit Blog Post

Kids on the BusKids on the BusKids on the Bus

Miguel and Angie
We caught an overnight coach from Ensanada to Lorreto - it cost us $60 or $560 pesos, but it took 16 hrs. 16 hrs is the longest I've ever spent on a coach, I'm glad most of it was through the night where I managed to sleep. Due to their being three of us one of us had to sit with a stranger, I was willing to roll the dice and see who turned up - if s/he had spoken a little English I could have really accelerated my Spanish knowledge. It was a fat middleaged Mexican woman - I said "Hola" she looked away out of the window and communicated from then on soley by kicks, grunts, snores and farts. This was the first really unfriendly Mexican I had met - and I had 16 hrs of her company to look forward to. Overnight some passengers departed - I moved down to where they were sitting and watched dawn over the desert.

Later on some of the little kids on the bus were staring at us - we smiled waved and Robbie let them listen to his personal stereo - they listened to mine also - and were treated to a very basic Spanish lesson - they went back to the beuno musica (good music) on Robbies stereo. After a while I felt that this was the perfect opportunity to try out my Spanish skills.

Me - Kid - comment
"Hola" - "Hola"
"Como te llamos?" - "Me llamo Miguel" - (I think)
"Como cuanto anos?" - "Seite" - seven

Wow after 6 hours intensive "Teach Your Self Spanish" I was communicating with a seven year old. I told him I was English and that I was learning Spanish to which he laughed and said things that I couldn't follow. His big sister - all of 8 years old was joining in talking with Robbie.

We learn't lots of new words - the mum (Adriani) joined in to help - we taught them a little English and I taught the kids to play trumps (card game). I played trumps with the kids for a few hours - they really enjoyed it. I got travel sick at this point - the bus had been making it's way through the foothills of a mountain rolling all over the shop. I hadn't noticed until I had a really nasty headache and was feeling very queasy. The kids were completly unaffected, I had to explain that I could play anymore as I was ill.
I did this with gesturing as my Spanish wasn't quite up to this very difficult senetence. The family was off to La Paz - back home - we explained that in a few days we would be in La Paz, Adriani gave us her telephone number.

Arriving in Loreta we posed for a photograph with the kids, and said goodbye. Lovely friendly family - I hope we see them in La Paz - kick around a football.

Loreta is a sleepy little seaside town, and it was hot. Fortunately the cheapest motel in town with Air Con (Motel Brenda), was only a few blocks away. I had thought that travelling in a group of three would add a few extra hassles, but in fact it has saved us money, a room sleeping three costs only a little extra than two. We're staying in Loreta for less than $10 a night. Things will get cheaper the further into Central America I go.

We had pizza for lunch - no spices so Boghen could handle it.

We went down to the seafront, past a few bars, an area for fishing and over to a beach. The sand was quite dark but the water was lovely, the mountains in the background provided a really scenic view. We all swam for a while and on the way back in though still in 5 ft deep water I punctured my foot on something very sharp. It hurt really bad, made it to shore, washed it and tryed to start the walk back to the motel. It really hurt - I was thinking about all the scare programs that start just like this, someone steps on a sting ray or a boney backed lion fish, and dies. The guys probably thought I was being a big girl.

We caught a cab that the driver said would cost us $3 pesos. Bargain. Back at the motel, he wanted $3 US - not a bargian - in fact a rip off. Rather than face huge numbers of the taxi mafia we paid up - we wouldn't be taking a cab again with out making it very clear that we were only going to pay pesos, and not ridiculous numbers of them. I slept for a few hours and my foot got a lot less painful. Perhaps I would make it through the night.

The guide book says that Loreta is not the place to go for a happening night life. It was right. Even the sleepy bars were pretty much empty. We had a few Corona, and wandered down the sea front.

Saturday night activities in Loreta seem to involve getting the whole family into whatever vehicle they posess and driving around with music. Boghen had worn his super man T-shirt from LA - and got crys of "Hey Superman" followed
by waves and laughing from many passing vehicles. One of the trucks had a couple of girls in it - we waved and smiled and after passing us nine times stopped. We went over to chat - they spoke great English - the truck was their Dad's - obviously Daddy has a lot of money - great truck and expensive English lessons. They were 17 and 13 respectively, chatted for a while. Asked them
were the best beaches were and which bars we should try out. Bars - none are any good. Beaches about 7km out of town there are some great beaches - the best being Napolo - we would have to get a cab there tomorrow.

Boghen decided to take a short walk back to the motel on his own. He arrived only a few minutes after myself and Matt. "Hey Superman!" aint quite as funny when your on your own and its drunks greeting you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb