Holy Cow, Batman


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Life Saving DeviceLife Saving DeviceLife Saving Device

How to survive summer in Mexico.
Well, well, well. Brian and I have just completed what may be the shortest Baja Bash in history. Three days, two out and one in. On departure day, we had big winds and current in the marina so we didn't get started until 12:45. We only went as far as the last anchorage before you leave the Bay of La Paz. The next day we bashed into nice lumpy seas and noserly winds as Ansa motored up the waves, only to fall off the tops of them with a loud BANG. Not fun. At some point, Brian turned to me and said "So, we get to do this every day for the next six weeks, huh?" Food for thought.
We were on autopilot so there was plenty of time for thought. Ever since our miserable summer in San Carlos last year, I was really determined not to spend another summer in Baja, so I became focused on bashing back. I kept delaying leaving La Paz for one reason or another and finally left because I felt guilty that I was just rattling Brian's plans too much. So we left. Then I find out as we are crashing and banging around in the San Lorenzo Channel (the entrance to the Bay of La Paz) that the only reason Brian is on the boat is that he didn't want me to kill myself trying to single hand it. Holy moly. It suddenly occurred to me that there was no need to beat Ansa and ourselves to death just to get out of Mexico. There are cars, there are airplanes. There are lots of options for dealing with summer in Mexico. We left La Paz on a Saturday, on Monday morning in Los Muertos, I decide to abort and return to La Paz. We put the pedal to the metal and flew back at 7 knots.
Fortunately, I was able to get my old slip back in the marina (Marina de La Plaz is the place to stay in La Paz], so Tuesday morning I signed a one year contract with the marina.
The next day I bought a little window air conditioner and installed it over the galley's hatch. Works great.

So, what is going to happen this summer? Well, Brian is going to hunker down in ECHO (also air conditioned now) and work on numerous boat projects. He has a lot of sewing stuff he wants to do. He is also unhappy about the layout of his salon and is busy re-designing it so it will work better for him.
I am returning to the US shortly to visit my friend Larry in Nevada and others in the Bay Area. I am getting a ride north with my friend Robin Smith. She will deposit me in Nevada, where I will buy some kind of vehicle and work my way south back to La Paz visiting friends all along the way.

Maybe I'm getting a little smarter in my old age.


Advertisement



4th June 2011

So Happy, I could weep!!!
Absolutely thrilled that we are not done with you two!!!! We'll see you next season, Sweeties!!!! Many hugs!!!

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb