Walking to Medano Beach


Advertisement
Published: February 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Feb 08 – Medano Beach – Today I walked off of Lazaro Cardenas down Acturaio from just East of the sign for Puerto Paraiso Mall, and then just followed the signs to Medano Beach. It was an easy 5 minute walk. Basically you just walk down Actuario until it deadends in another street, take a right and the up, over, and down the hill.

The beach was very nice although I don’t think it is as nice as Lovers Beach. However it is a much shorter walk and if someone came to party, and brought a wheelbarrow full of money, it’s the beach for that.

I am more into a beautiful place to relax and swim and Lovers Beach is a better place for that. I walked along the beach to Lovers beach the other day and although I had to climb over some rocks to get to it I believe it is worth it.

In any case if someone wants a place that is easier walking access, where the party is at, as well as a beautiful beach then Mendano Beach is the place to go. They could bring their own water and snacks with them.

I had a fairly good size shopping bag in which I put some water, a towel, water shoes, etc into. I wore my sandals to the beach and switched to the water shoes when I got to the beach. And of course wore my swimsuit under my shorts. I also brought an extra t-shirt to switch into while swimming.

Thusly armed I made my way to the beach and had a really good day relaxing on my towel and enjoying the beautiful view, fresh air, and abundant sunshine.

I got in the water and swam some as well. The water was beautiful but cold and took a little edging into.

I considered going into one of the bars along the waters edge and having a beer while checking out the place. But I saw a sign (if I read it right) saying Corona 150 Pesos. That’s about $12 US ! Those people are on drugs if they think I will pay $12 US for a beer!! I’d never drink a beer again before I would pay that !

After enjoying my time in the water I eased back to the hotel and got out of my wet things, showered , and changed into clean clothes. I had intended to go out and get a burrito to go at a recommended place a couple of blocks over, but ended up deciding to just have some avocado and tomato and a sandwich. With English Breakfast tea as I haven’t found Liptons Tea here in Cabo.

When I extended my time here at the Cabo Inn they moved me to another room downstairs because the room I had been in upstairs had been requested by someone else before I rebooked for another 5 days. I should have made my request sooner. Downstairs sucks. There is a central table in the courtyard downstairs. It is noisy with boring Americans talking about money, property, their jobs, their houses, how much money they make, how much money friends make, relatives make, acquaintances make, etc. Boring, Boring, Boring. And the more boring the people are it seems the louder they talk. I guess they think they impress people by saying how much money they make….they are just boring.

In any case upstairs where I was before is where the fun people are staying. They sit out on their patio and talk about fun things and it is shaded but airy with nice breezes blowing. I would try and go back but I am planning on leaving on Monday for La Paz so I guess I will just tough it out downstairs.

I do go upstairs to talk with the interesting people every day though, then come back down to “the dungeon” to work on my blog. I put in my earphones to block out the boring people but they talk pretty loud and I sometimes hear them anyway as I listen to easy listening music.

Seriously if all they wanted to do was talk about their jobs and money then why didn’t they just stay home….

In any case I had a great time today again at the beach although I did got cooked to the well done. And my avocado and tomato was delicious when I got back to the hotel.

On the way back to the hotel I cut across to the Marina and checked it out. It was almost deserted. It’s hard to believe when I consider that I always heard that this place was super crowded. I don’t know if it is true but I was told by one of the Canadians yesterday that Cabo San Lucas is trying to charge a “head tax” of $5 per person and so the cruise ships are boycotting Cabo as a result.

Maybe so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Water taxi with ladderWater taxi with ladder
Water taxi with ladder

The water taxi's with a ladder to climb into and out of the boat are worth seeking out.


10th February 2013

I'm glad you go back upstairs to visit.
Sounds like you are really enjoying Cabo and feel certain you will visit again in the future. I've heard nothing but good things about the La Paz area so we are eager to hear your impressions. We are currently in Texas visiting friends in Longview. I can't remember which part of Texas you are from but when we leave here we will head to Austin to visit my cousin.
11th February 2013

Austin
I'm sure you will enjoy Austin. I will probably be still in Cabo while you visit. Too bad because I would surely look you guys up. In any case if you get a chance visit San Antonio. This is the best time of year to visit when it is not so hot.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb