FRIDAY.


Advertisement
Published: August 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh, our last full day here in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico! It went pretty well—I woke up at 3am and got a bit sick, but then I went back to sleep and felt pretty decent when I woke up around 8:30am. My dad and I got ready and caught a cab downtown to do some last shopping, and it was awesome! Super hot, but we saw some new stores we’d never been in before. Such as: a mask store, a blown glass store, a pure sterling silver store, a leather store (not so good…they had cow skin/fur as their table covering.. legit, the whole back of the cow :’( ugh), and then the vendor booths.

I got some awesome stuff today! A few gifts, and then this hand-painted tile with the Arc of Cabo on it; a painted conch shell; and some other little things. The vendors were pretty feisty today—bargaining was not in their future! Little poops. We got into downtown Cabo around 10am and caught the local school bus (aka public transportation) back to the hotel by 12. Not so bad—got some shopping/last views of downtown, all in time for some good hours by the pool!

My sister chose to stay at the hotel, so my dad and I got back, and we all hung out by the pool until 4ish. There was yet another cruise ship out in the water (the third one we’ve seen!), so that was pretty awesome. I still kept feeling a bit funny, but I hadn’t eaten since who knows when, so I tried a turkey hot dog, some fries, plain rice, plain noodles, and a pepsi. I had a few cups of ice water and a 7up later too, and I’m proud to say I’m still kicking!! My stomach hurts here and there, but I’ve been feeling pretty well…so I think the food was a success!

So yes…just another relaxing day of shopping and chilling by the pool. I swam for a bit and got a MAJOR case of the hiccups due to my sister trying to pull me underwater by my ankles. But anyways. SO we got ready and went to our fancy hotel dinner (Krystal) at 6. Omg…the plates and everything were beautiful and the food was incredibly well put together. I got this weird appetizer of fried cheese (?), avacado mousse with salmon, and tomato/watermelon in a cup with a spoon? Another appetizer was tuna with chick peas and sesame seeds and bean sprouts (mmmm). My entrée was salmon with pineapple, and my dessert was fresh fruit with a licorice-type syrup over it? They gave us cherry-ish champagne, but I took a sip and almost died. It was terrible. I guess alcohol isn’t made for everybody.

Since we had an early dinner for once, we got out just as the sun was setting. Oh my heavens, what an amazing way to end a vacation. We went on the back porch and used this telescope thing to look at the crashing waves and out to the huge rocks. The water was so blue and clear, and the waves had some small swells (5-8 feet), then they got bigger and bigger. Ended up being close to 20 effin feet! No doubt, the biggest waves I’ve seen in my life. It’s crazy how they only crash at the shore too. But looking at them through a telescope was incredible, as the sunset reflected from the other side of the hotel onto the porch and rocks. I got some awesome photos, but then we raced to the front of the hotel and got more amazing sunset shots. The skies were once again cloudless and blue today…probably the hottest day we’ve had here. So obviously, the sunset was breathtaking.

Really, with this trip, words and photos can only cover so much. As with any vacation, the views and experiences we see and witness are just….beyond words. I took a ton of great pics, but they barely begin to cover how amazing everything looks here. And we spent most of our time around the hotel and on excursions! Imagine seeing allll the parts of Los Cabos, like San Jose del Cabo. There’s so much to see, and I can’t even describe how spectacular everything looks.

God.

So after amazing photos, my dad went to the bar and my sis & I went on the beach for the last time. The sun was going down, so it was rather dark, but we saw some tiny seashells for the first time!! I took a bunch in my purse. Yah. Then we just stood and watched the huge waves crash—they are unlike any OC wave, and they made a thunder-like noise when they crash. You can hear it from anywhere on the hotel grounds! We took some more pics and took in the sea spray that came off the huge waves. Since the waves crash and automatically go back out, it takes about a minute for the sea spray to reach those of us on the sandy shore.

Walking back up to the hotel, Meg & I were pretty giddy. Our feet were sandy, so we walked barefoot around the hotel. (We’re cool). We went down to one of the pools and rinsed our feet, then continued to walk barefoot. I took the slant path thingy up to the 2nd level, while Meg took the stairs. We legit raced and ran up, then took part in speedwalking, more hiccupping, racing to the room, and then parting. She packed up while I came to the lobby to blog. Currently no internet. Life is great…not. Sike. Being immature is awesome when you’re 19 & 20 years old.

Speaking of hiccups, I made myself laugh at dinner (which was in a tiny room with 30 people max), and this massive hiccup came out. It was awful. It obvi made me laugh even harder, but yeah. Just random cocktail information. I haven’t had the hiccups in forever, and I had them for 3 nice long sessions today.

Hm…this guy just came into the lobby who my sister thinks looks like Mike. I don’t think so, but he was there last night and was so funny--- he was going nuts over the lack of internet. So entertaining. I saw him at the pool today and then again after dinner…and now he just entered and asked how the internet is. The funny thing is that we still see people from our flight and the same people at the hotel. You’d think with the size of it, we’d never see people again. Wrong-o. I see the same people all the time.

Oh! There’s been a bunch of foreign people here, but apparently my dad sat next to an Australian girl this morning in the lobby. Wtf, I hate my life. I’ve heard everything BUT an English and/or Aussie accent. There was this guy in a bootie short bathing suit at the pool, and his suit said “Aussie Bum” on the back. I stalked him all day, waiting to hear his voice, but I never did. *sigh*

My sister heard an Aussie guy during one of the first days here. She saw him again later and I once again stalked them down at the pool table but….never heard him speak. Life is rough.

So that’s all I can remember for now! A great end to a wonderful vacation. We check out and head to the Los Cabos aeropuerto around 9:30am tomorrow…and we have a 12:30pm flight (Cabo time)… I think? Then a 2 hour layover in Phoenix, AZ…then back to BWI around 11:30pm? So hopefully everything goes okay with that.

Hehe “Grease” is currently playing downstairs. Love that movie.

But yes, this trip has been awesome but I’m pumped for working internet, cell phone usage, and *gasp* PRIVACY!!!! It’ll be awesome. Hanson/BSB/Train concert on Sunday, get to see Archie again, and then 5 days later, I move in to mah dorm! Life is good.

I’ll do my last post tomorrow when I get home! For now…

Peace, love, & breathtaking sunsets from Cabo San Lucas, Mexico,

Melissa <3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb