Heading for Home


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Whitehorse
June 20th 2009
Published: June 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lunch StopLunch StopLunch Stop

Picked up a sandwich for the road-Typical Lodge in the Northland
As I previously said, when I left Dawson I wanted to start heading for home in the most direct way. I headed down from Dawson to Whitehorse, where I got back on the Alaska Highway. I ended up putting on over 400 miles and camping on Teslin lake in the Yukon. I was back driving through the Northern Rockies, which is a very beautiful, remote area. It is chock full of mountian goats, bears and moose.

Having gone through the Northern Rockies on my way north, I kept thinking these are the Grandpa mountains of the Rockie Mountain Range. They must be older than their southern brethren. They are a little more slope shouldered, yet still a beautiful area with gorgeous lakes between the mountains. The driving is very winding and narrow with big drops on either side of the road.

The next day I continued down the Alaska Highway to Fort Nelson and stayed in the Bluebell Motel after asking the front desk girl if they had good internet availability in the rooms. She told me that they had wifi and it would be good. Well, for about a half hour it was and then it was up
FireFireFire

Back through the forest fires still burning near Liard Hot Springs
and down for the next hour until I finally gave up. I can't tell you how frustrating it was getting a decent connection in the hotels in the rural northland. Fortunately, I found an internet cafe in town and was able to put out the last entry on Dawson.

I'm currently in Whitecourt, Alberta, about 80 miles west of Edmonton and it's Sunday morning. I continued from Fort Nelson through Fort St. John and that's where you reenter civilization and higher populations. I stopped in Dawson Creek to give the truck a well earned oil change and car wash before continuing on to Whitecourt. This is a very heavily forested area and after seeing lots of moose warning signs on the road, I asked the front desk girl if there were a lot of moose around here, she said that there are so many that they come into town all the time.

I'm on a kind of cannonball run to get home and that's why I plotted out this route through the flatlands toward home. From here I'll go through Edmonton and southeast through Saskatchewan before heading south into North Dakota. According to the GPS, I've got about
Caribou?Caribou?Caribou?

I think I saw my Caribou in velvet. If anyone knows better, let me know.
1,900 miles to go. It's so true of travel that you're always excited to leave, but it's always good to get home and I'm sure looking forward to pulling in the driveway on Butterfield Lane.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wild BisonWild Bison
Wild Bison

In Northern Rockies
Muncho LakeMuncho Lake
Muncho Lake

One of the largest lakes in the Northern Rockies


22nd June 2009

Happy Fathers Day!
Bob, I've really been enjoying keeping up with your adventure through your updates - surely not as much as you've been enjoying this trip of a lifetime. Your commentary and the pictures have really brought it to life from this end... I'm jealous ;-) Hope you continue to have a safe journey home.
22nd June 2009

Home Sweet Home
Drive Safe! Prayers going out for your safe return.
22nd June 2009

caribou or ???
Don't know where that picture was taken but from the blog it seems you might be a little far south for caribou. More likely a young elk.
22nd June 2009

Caribou or ???
Thanks, Liz. I'm sure you're right although there were caribou warning signs not too far north of there.
22nd June 2009

Home Sweet Home
Thank you.
22nd June 2009

Happy Fathers Day
Thanks, Jim. Happy fathers day to you. I would love to do this trip again with you.
22nd June 2009

caribou
You called it right Bob! It's in velvet.
22nd June 2009

Caribou
OK, Howard agrees with me it's a caribou and Liz says elk....Far be it from me to be sure. Anyone else want to weigh in??
22nd June 2009

CARIBOU!
Bob... Its a Caribou... Seen a million of em.... And Yes, you caught one in Velvet. Looks and sounds like you had a great time. Glad you liked Nebesna Road, one of my favorite places too. Glad you had fun Big Bill Anchorage, AK
24th June 2009

Caribou!
Thanks, Big Bill. That settles it for me. Based on that decision, I've seen all the animals I hoped to see on the trip.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb