Yukon has put a spell on me


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Haines Junction
June 5th 2016
Published: June 5th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Every campround in Yukon has a beachEvery campround in Yukon has a beachEvery campround in Yukon has a beach

And the sun never sets. It's the best place to go get lost in your thoughts. And no one will bother you; because there is no one in Yukon. I needed that.
It is safe to say that Yukon was, and still everyday is, one hell of a surprise for me. I don’t really know what I was expecting; anyway my hopes fell short. Larger than life is not a false statement.
Maybe it’s the people. Having a smaller population, recluse, but not entirely of the crazy ‘civilized’ world might explain some aspects of it. For the seasons and the ecosystems are so much more capricious here than anywhere else I have seen, the people have learn to respect them more. Being aware of the energy it takes to produce quality, in food as in music, coffee and everything is a normal thing. Everything is of astonishing quality; everything that is local, anyway. Also I have never seen such a big concentration of outdoor enthusiasts. They run, half marathon. They paddle, the whole province, more than once. They hike, for whole week-end or as much as they can spread it. They bike, mountain passes for the hell of it.
Maybe it’s the “yukon time” that makes me savour everything more. For they understand quality; none of them will jeopardize a project for the hell of seeing it done. As much as outdoorsing time
My camping skills are getting better.My camping skills are getting better.My camping skills are getting better.

I'm better and happier at living on the road. Which might help explainig my obsession for the place.
is valued, personal time and acclimatization time is respected and understood. It’s laid-back but for a good cause, not for the sake of chilling, but to maintain the sanity of it all.
Maybe it is the unbelievable scenery. I long to get back here to see a real winter for they all talk about it with a spark in the eye and excitement in their voices. Not only the beauty of it but the amount of well celebrated activity it allows the local to practice. I have seen higher mountains than ever before, greener forests, calmer lakes with pristine water unspoiled by human stupidity. A mesmerizing sky populated by so many magic clouds and species of song bird I had never heard before.
Maybe it’s just the attitude toward it all. People helping just to help. Enjoying stories or new music. Jalousing someone’s adventure and making sure they are not missing a tiny bit you want them to access in your stead.
A beautiful highway of rolling hills and encouraging Westfalia.
The never setting sun allowing life to celebrate longer than ever.
Me biking once more and being willing to push ever further because I don’t want to stop the amazement.
Poems, passioning stories of adventurers, amazing coffee…
Since the sky do not obey any laws, where shall we put the limit?


Advertisement



5th June 2016
Or more sun makes happier people?

Gueeeu
Je trouvais pas de titre, bon! C'est très intéressant l'angle sous lequel tu nous présentes la place. Comme ça, le camping est apprivoisé!? Tu pourras me donner des leçons ;0)
6th June 2016

A mesmerizing sky
Magic clouds and song birds make the world go around. Celebrate life. Go for it.
9th June 2016

Magnet
J'adore ta plume, mais j'ai surtout vraiment aimé ta dernière phrase :) We shall go back there together one day. You convinced me to try it ;)

Tot: 0.268s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 16; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb