Stuck in Dawson....again.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Dawson City
July 27th 2010
Published: July 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I now know how Creedence Clearwater Revival came up with the song "Stuck in Lodi".
Although i have been to Lodi and Dawson is a far better place to be stuck in. Basically the "top of the World Highway" is washed out again and the Yanks are trying vigorously to fix it as i type. Adam and I will be here until Thursday morning when the road allegedly opens and execute one of 2 plans.....
Plan "A" .....the road opens and we head north to Prudhoe Bay and resume our itinerary.
Plan "B"......the road is still closed so we head 650 kms south and attempt the North Canol Highway via Ross River and....depending on time constraint....head north to Prudhoe Bay again.
Plan B means that my new knobby rear tires will be shot before Prudhoe Bay and I'll need to get new ones though....bummer.
Ok, so what have we been up to since our return to Dawson? Resting basically. Although i did get the chance to do my laundry in a Dry bag that I filled with water and detergent and now smell "fresh again".
Adam is busy working with the local RCMP in replacing his licence platre that fell off somewhere along the Dempster. This will certainly hinder our progress into the USA if we can't display a valid plate so watch this space folks.
Today Dawson is quiet, warm and sunny and I'm kicking around in shorts and crocs waiting for my laundry to dry.
Reflecting on yesterday's trip down the Dempster, I'm glad I did it. Very glad and would urge anyone with a sense of adventure to attempt the ride to Inuvik if not just for the trip but to build character!
Food and cholesterol........Brish Army Ration packs are what we're mostly living on so I put all my faith on Lipitor! I have learned that life on the road is not a good way to manage cholesterol but will continue to persevere ....for example the further north you go the less fruit becomes available. The bike is making some unusual rattling noises as well. I think the clutch thrust bearing has seen better days ans will nurse it all the way and get it fixed in Calgary under warranty (I hope).
That's about it for today, I'll try to upload a few photos again for you asll to see.
In the meantime you can do your bit by getting your friends and neighbours to donate to the Heart and Stroke foundation at www.springcreekmv.com/donate.

regards to you all.
Nevil


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



27th July 2010

WOW!
Hi Nevil, You have made great progress considering all the rain and muddy conditions you have had. The Demspster has done in many vehicles, and drivers, in good conditions, so congratulations. Hope the road opens for you and the sun shines. In the meantime enjoy the break. Have a safe rest of your trip. Bob

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb