My first time get a big fish in Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Swift Current
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My trip 2003

After I have been enjoying all the good life and a lot more to enjoy in beautiful city of Monrtréal, Québec for a whole year, Chantal and I moved to Swift Current, Saskatchewan in January 3rd, 2003. I missed all what I have done in Montréal and Québec City, but all those things still with me in my head and my memory will never forget about my time in both beautiful cities. We bought our first to own a house earlier before we moved to Swift Current. The house is large, nice view and because it was so close to downtown, shopping centre, malls, service roads, public school - Swift Current Comprehensive High School or known as 'The Comp', and notably is friendly neighbour. Since then, we stay here for six years till present. We enjoy all good things like nice garden at the backyard, nice parks, nice pathway called 'The Chinook', and plus public gardens.

My first time catch a big fish in CanadaMy first time catch a big fish in CanadaMy first time catch a big fish in Canada

This fish is Northern Pike, fish species that live in Saskatchewan. I was very happy that I got one like this big one.
My friend, Christian Plancette and I went together fishing at Lac Pelletier, less than one hour from Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada by a car on May 26th, 2007 after three days of my birthday. We were two of us fishing at the lake, but not for long because in some minutes later we did get any luck from the fish to eat our worm from the fishing rod, so then we moved to the Duncun Dump, just a few minutes west from the lake.

At Duncun Dump, we finally got some big fish from our fishing because we knew that the place was good to fish. Christian is from Dijon, France who's hobby is to fish, so he brought his fishing rod from Dijon when he visited me and Chantal in Swift Current, Saskatchewan for two weeks. I like to fish too, but I don't fish regularly because I don't have friend to fish with. When he came here, he asked me 'Do you want to fish?' and then I said yes. We finally went to Lac Pelletier (Lake Pelletier) in south of Swift Current for a day.

There, he taught me how to fish and after that I
Northen pikeNorthen pikeNorthen pike

The fish is approching to the riverbank as seen in the pic.
just tried the way he taught me, for some minutes later I got quiet big fish (you will see on the pictures) and he got some too. I was so excited when I got the big fish, so I asked him to take picture of me with the fish I got and he did took picture of me and I took picture of him too. Later on, I sent some of the pictures about fishing to my family back in Lombok, Indonesia and they were surprised with the pictures that I got very big fish.

We went to Saskatchewan Landing to fish on Sunday, 27th of May 2007 after yesterday fish at Lac Pelletier. Here, we hired someone to take us fishing and he also fishing in the river. We got some fish too over there like Walleye and Northern Pike too. The cost to hire him was CAD$40/person. Not too bad.

I would like to go to fish again in the future if I have some friends to go with them because I could talk about anything, not just watching my fishing rod's thread being eaten by the fish.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Christian caught a big fishChristian caught a big fish
Christian caught a big fish

At Duncun Dump, Christian caught a big Northern Pike (name of the fish) at first and I was a little envy about that, but some minutes later I caught one and bigger than his.
ChristianChristian
Christian

Christian is playing tag war with the fish.
Christian won the warChristian won the war
Christian won the war

He finally won the war against the fish.
Fishing as a hobbyFishing as a hobby
Fishing as a hobby

Fishing is a fun hobby, but sometimes we are tired that our fishing rod get stuck on something.
Christian like to fishChristian like to fish
Christian like to fish

As a result, he caught the fish more than I did.
Christian like to fishChristian like to fish
Christian like to fish

He brought his fishing rod from his country Dijon, France.
We brought some fish from Lac Pelletier, SaskatchewanWe brought some fish from Lac Pelletier, Saskatchewan
We brought some fish from Lac Pelletier, Saskatchewan

As you can see, we just got home from the lake. Here, we had some big fish that we brought from the lake and some of them we ate them right away and some also we kept them in the freezer.
Our fishing resultsOur fishing results
Our fishing results

These fish were our results for fishing at Duncun Dump and their names are norther pikes.
Our fishing resultsOur fishing results
Our fishing results

We had fish for dinner after we arrived at home and it was deliciouso.
Rest timeRest time
Rest time

It was a bit rain when we fished and also we were tired, so we took a rest and peed at the designated area that provide by the park, also clean the fish there.
Fishing at Sask. Landing with a boatFishing at Sask. Landing with a boat
Fishing at Sask. Landing with a boat

Right after we fished at Lac Pelletier, the next day which was Sunday, 27th of May 2007, we hired someone to take us to the Saskatchewan Landing river to fish there for a day. So here we are on the boat, we just took rest. From this river, we caught some fish like Walleye and Northern Pike too, so we brought them home. Some we ate them and kept too. The cost was about CAD$40/person and we were two who was fishing, me and Christian and Chantal just watched us fishing.
WaleyWaley
Waley

Christian caught a small waley at the Saskatchewan Landing - Provincial park.
American White PelicanAmerican White Pelican
American White Pelican

Here you see it flies. American White Pelicans migrate to the south like to Florida, USA in cold season and in warm seasons they come back to Canada. They migrate like other birds like Canadian geese.
American White PelicanAmerican White Pelican
American White Pelican

On the river, we saw American White Pelican and they were two of them as you can see. American White Pelican is a huge bird, you will see how big when you see it closely or when it flies
Fishing is overFishing is over
Fishing is over

We got to pay the guy who took us during the tour, as you see Chantal made the payment to him.
Our tour fishing is overOur tour fishing is over
Our tour fishing is over

Here, just paid the man on the boat for our tour and he just gone. We went to our car after that and went home.
Get to our carGet to our car
Get to our car

Our car is overthere.


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb