Flying High at the Kite Festival


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Swift Current
June 29th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If you have a chance to attend the Swift Current Kite Festival; our family would highly recommend it. Owen has been asking for the past couple of years and we have always been tied up with other commitments. With our departure from Eastend being relatively immanent and Owen's birthday coming up we decided to surprise Owen by taking him, his brother and his three best friends to the kite festival to celebrate his birthday. The festival was awesome! We saw some amazing aerial displays, as one-band, a mentalist(magician), and the boys made their own kites. One really neat thing that happened at the mentalist show was the trick where he tears a newspaper into many pieces and then turns it back into a whole newspaper. I know rather standard stuff...BUT...the newspaper was the Saskatoon Planet and the photo on the cover was none other than the cast of Caberlesque! Yes, the boys were watching a man tear pictures of their Auntie Sharon and Uncle Jeff up into pieces. Apparently Tom Cruise was supposed to be doing a cameo appearance at the show but called in sick. The mentalist chose the most handsome member of the audience to be his surrogate and I think I did a pretty good job.

Since my last post there has been some events in our lives worth mentioning. First thing was our school Colour Night. If you are like me and have never heard of Colour Night before, I'll explain. Colour Night is the year end awards ceremony and the passing of the colours to the newly elected Student Representative Council. It was great to see the students whom I have gotten to know better each year receive recognition for their efforts. For me it is a night I will remember forever. In the past I have received gifts from students, parents, and colleagues when I was leaving a community. However, I have never received something as rewarding or enduring as the gift I received that evening. A standing ovation was given to me by the students and audience members at the conclusion of the annual Principal's Message. What an amazing feeling! I've got tears in my eyes just writing about it.

Another event that made my heart swell was the party organized by our great family friend and supporter Deb Fletcher. Deb organized a Bon Voyage Community Potluck and about 60 people came and broke bread with us. It was great to see so many people come and wish us well. Something we will never forget about Eastend is the way in which our family was supported. Check out the awesome "card" Deb made for us...it says it all!!

This will be my final blog entry from the Eastend area. We are on our way to Saskatoon to begin our summer adventure. I will try to put our itinerary on the next blog so if we are at a location nearby over the summer and you are in the same neighbourhood and have some time we can connect prior to our departure in August.

Some unanswered questions from my previous blog--Our beloved dog Diogi will stay at my Mom and Dad's in Saskatoon. He will be very comfortable there as it is like a second home to him. He will likely gain a few pounds as we all do when visiting our Nana and Papa's as they like to spoil their guests with some help from Diane and Terry.

Items we will take that I didn't mention--our favorite toothpaste, Tom's of Maine- it's hard to find here and I can't imagine it being in Costa Rica. Pain killers and other medicine chest items--they are rather expensive in Costa Rica. Footwear--sport sandals, ankle-cut waterproof hikers, running/sport shoes and light hikers--I bought a sweet pair of Italian dress shoes there last year for $35 so if I need dress shoes I'll get them there. They would have cost $115 here!!

If you are still reading... thanks for checking out our blog and please leave comments as we want you to get in the habit of doing so! Until next time...que le vaya bien. May things go well.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



29th June 2007

Bon Voyage
The kite festival sounds awesome. I have always wanted to go too. We had them come to the school with kites and it was a good experience. A standing ovation is indeed a memory to cherish. I ran from any thing like this-not that it would have happened, but I can see how you would feel. And the thought of crying in front of an audience is a tough one for me and I hope you dealt with it as humanely as possible. Good to be done with though-eh. Your adventure is about to begin!!
29th June 2007

So happy for you
Thanks for keeping us so well informed.Enjoy your descriptive writing. Eat your heart out Tom Cruise!!
29th June 2007

Thank you, Owen
Thank you Owen for the lovely flowers. They are beautiful and smell so nice. Also, have a happy birthday! You are lucky, you have had lots of parties already and it isn't even your birthday yet. Talk to you soon. Ms. Hayes
29th June 2007

Tom Who?
Hey, Ron, you beat out that Cruise guy anytime! We're looking forward to seeing your itinerary. I'm glad Owen had such a great surprise. I love the farewell card. Does that imply that you are a sweet family or just that you like chocolate?
29th June 2007

Bueno!
Keep those posts coming! They are great to read. I love the card, especially the Bueno bar wrapper. Brings back some not so good memories. With any luck we'll see you guys this summer.
2nd July 2007

Principal's Message
Ron, what did you tell them that cause a standing ovation?
2nd July 2007

owen's birthday
happy birthday Owen Hope you have a good day. Hope you have fun in Costa Rica From Tasker
3rd July 2007

Standing O
Bob, it was a short message. I thanked the staff, parents and community members for supporting the students in the pursuit of excellence, I thanked the students for another excellent year. I reminded people that achievement was not an act but a process that requires goals, resourcefulness, and perseverance. I challenged every person to look for models of excellence in people and organizations and achievement and to use them to guide them in life. I said my goodbye and suggested we might see each other in the future.
3rd July 2007

Chocolate
Gail, maybe both...it sure was nice and we are enjoying them. Nobody has offered me the Bueno yet either.
4th July 2007

On second thought...
Bob, perhaps the ovation was related to what I have done rather than what I said. Nevertheless it was a great feeling.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb