Home in the Fall


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Saskatoon
October 12th 2013
Published: October 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Just a few words about being home, before the next leg of the journey starts. My friend Chris says that it is only when you have been away can you tell if people do really like you. I am very grateful to all those I love for how clearly you all showed me that you missed me. I have never had so many hugs and big smiles of welcome. You all make me want to come home again and again.

The pace changed on arrival; no more slow mornings of coffee and sudoku. It gave me the chance to really recognize how being on vacation was changing me. I connected with school, the world of kids, politics, decisions and fast flowing ideas, but most importantly my friends whose daily presence is a real lack in this year off. I did find it hard to peel myself away, particularly after we had our reunion with many of our students over the past 7 years. I got to see the beautiful new cabin of my friends Jacquie and Scott. Butch, Mom and I went to our cabin to shut it down for the winter. And I ran around doing all of the errands I had left to prepare for European travel. I started to talk faster, move faster and think faster. It's quite impressive how quickly one changes back into the old patterns, good and bad. What I liked most was being able to enjoy a bit of Saskatchewan fall. The temperature was warm, the skies blue, the angle of the sun left everything golden. I love the smell of the leaves. Now I was ready to travel again. Good night and Sweet Dreams.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb