In the Beginning


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Saskatoon
May 30th 2013
Published: May 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Jacob and I are taking a year off to travel. We are not starting until after the first week in July, but we are getting ready.

Here is the plan. We will start by loading our kayaks on the roof of the car and filling the back with all of our camping gear. We are heading East.

Gary and Louise have graciously invited us to base camp with them in Ottawa. We'll make trips into Quebec and we are paddling down the Rideau with them at the end of July. Jake's dad and I are sharing him, so Jake will now leave to go to lake of the woods.I will move on to New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. Jake will rejoin me at some point. I will Kayak and camp as I go, leaving each place when the spirit moves me. I will stop and visit Janet and George in Nova Scotia and Harvey and Anna in Newfoundland. At some point, I will turn around and head back home for the beginning of October.

October 10th, Butch and I get on a plane and head to Venice, Italy for a week. We'll join Mom, Jean, Lynne, Janet, David and Jacquie and Scott in Canale, Italy for 10 days, and then float till we must get to Paris by November 1st.

Jake joins us in November in Paris. We'll be there for 10 days, then Butch leaves us to go home. Jake and I move on to Barcelona for 2 weeks. We'll return to Paris for a few days before we move on to Egypt.

The beginning of December, EAdventures is taking us on a tour of Cairo, Felucca (boat) on the Nile, visits to Aswan, Luxor, and many oasis in the dessert leading up to Alexandria before we return to Cairo. We'll be camping under the stars and staying with locals for a real taste of Egypt.

From here I return to Saskatoon while Jake goes to South Africa.

I restart my travels the beginning of February when Jake will meet me in Arusha, Tanzania. We are going to volunteer teach for a month with Projects Abroad and then travel for two weeks in Tanzania.

Jake then goes on to Australia, while I return home to get ready for the trip to Peru.

The beginning of April, I'm off to Cusco where I will join the Projects Abroad team with their Inca Project. For a month, I will do a mix of archaeology and community service, while trying to learn Spanish. Then Jacob will join me and we will volunteer for a forest conservation project. The last two weeks that we are in Peru, we will travel with SAS tours and hike up to Machu Picchu, visit the Valley of the Condors and float on the reed islands of Lake Titicaca.

Finally we will return home the last days of May, when I will shower and get ready to go to Application Camp to meet next years' students.

Advertisement



12th June 2013

ya!
go for it!
27th June 2013

wow!
Great planning Gillian! I can hardly wait for the next blog..:) Have fun.....
6th July 2013

WOW!
You aren't leaving anywhere for Jake later in life. We would like
3rd September 2013

You have an amazing adventure planned!
I'm so fortunate to have discovered your blogs this morning. I've read a couple already and certainly will be reading more. I'm excited to read your thoughts and impressions as you travel this year.
5th September 2013

Thank you. I'm pretty joyous about it every day.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb