Live your life and forget your age


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Regina
September 2nd 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dennie and TenzinDennie and TenzinDennie and Tenzin

Chillin in the hammock at Winnipeg Folk festival.
There have been many travels since my last blog; Berlin, Andorra, the Pyranees, Alicante, Albarracin, Majorca, Picos de Europa, Bilbao, Asturias and Teruel. We travelled a great deal of the country overland by car, as the realisation came to us that our time here was coming to an end and we had spent too much of our free time and money travelling abroad. Spain needed some attention, and finally with a basic understaniding of the language we could travel with ease, and get off the beaten track...

The usual bevvy of sumertime fun awaited us in Canada, and our routine combination of music festivals, camping, weddings, and parties, all went down with great success. But as the end of summer approached, the frenetic pace of constant travel has slowed, and Spain already feels like a distant memory. A visit to the doctor upon my return to Canada indicates that the glorious fiesta infused days in Spain made a lasting impression on my body. The doctor, concerned with my gallbladder, cholesteral and bum ankle prescribed a quiet life of gardening and aquasize and resigned me to old age. And so I have gone into semi retirement, abandoning the adventure seeking gene
Craig and GrantCraig and GrantCraig and Grant

Looking a might chilly in Berlin.
with one that is concerned with what renovations the neighbors are making, and what types of perrenials will survive the harsh Saskatchewan winters. I am a small step away from purchasing a whittling knife and rocking chair, which reminds me of the need to build a front deck on our house. When My friends and I get together we talk about house prices, local politics, and the fact that kids these days have no respect.

In truth, I am not concerned with the natural progression of things. Community is strong here, and there are lots of things to learn and people to connect with. I will tend to the domesticated flock of children in the public system while Dennie will herd the wild hippy children of cathedral happily about the city. Life will be good, and no doubt some day soon, the need for travel will uproot us once more, likely down South America way.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Joseph and IJoseph and I
Joseph and I

getting down with our bad selves
MajoricaMajorica
Majorica

with Ian and amanda
Right Near Da Beach...Right Near Da Beach...
Right Near Da Beach...

with Ana, Mauro, Michelle, Dennie and I. Somewhere in the North of Spain.
Billy GoatBilly Goat
Billy Goat

Picos de Europa
Dennie and IDennie and I
Dennie and I

Kissing in the Picos de Europa
Fire ParadeFire Parade
Fire Parade

Small town outside of Valencia.
Mitch and IMitch and I
Mitch and I

pre canyoning in Alcares... We didn't look so confident at the end.
AnaAna
Ana

North of Spain.
StiltsStilts
Stilts

Winnipeg Folk Fest.
Mural at the FestivalMural at the Festival
Mural at the Festival

Kim, Amanda, Tenzin, Dennie and I
Spiffed up for a night of adventuresSpiffed up for a night of adventures
Spiffed up for a night of adventures

Ness Creek Music Festival
DennieDennie
Dennie

looking cool on a train in Majorica


7th September 2009

Thoughts Sept 7, 2009 at 3am
I love you guys. Right now it is 3am after Nichole and Shawn's wedding. Regina has a heart and soul big enough to sustain you both for a while. I am glad we are sort-of-neighbours. We will sustain you with blender drinks and card games as long as you both will tolerate us. Together we (us 4) can work on making "Heritage" a fabulous place to live. But for now I have to help finish the keg. Love you both...I hope this chilly city can hold you for awhile because you make it absolutley phenominal! my heart and home anytime good friends!
12th September 2009

Hey, too early for the rocking chair!
Been missing your blogs ( i traveled with u guys through reading up all your blogs). But pls, don't hang up your gloves just yet. Too early for you. If you do, I'd feel so jaded and ancient. Take a break, rest up your walking legs if you will , but yes, do South America!!!
16th October 2009

You don look so old, to me. :)

Tot: 0.409s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 22; qc: 92; dbt: 0.2542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb