Saint-Raymond, Quebec


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Québec City
March 3rd 2011
Published: March 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Saint Raymond yesterday. The total trip was just about 1,000 miles from home. This is really pretty country here, very hilly and rural. And lots of snow! Originally I planned to ride from here to Riviere du Loup in the Gaspe Peninsula where the guided tour is going to start, but I stopped at this snowmobile dealer to pick up my 7 day Quebec trail permit ($180, ouch) and after going over the map with the guys at the dealership I found out that it would be about a 400+ km ride (around 250 miles). This, by myself, before starting a 1,200 mile tour on Sunday seemed like a bit much, so I've decided to drive the truck and trailer to Riviere du Loup.

The people I've met so far have all been very nice, but very few speak any English. They are every proud of their French culture here. It is pretty cool. I only have one thing that I don't quite understand. In every other Canadian province, all the way into the Yukon Territory, 3,000 miles from Quebec, they have all the road and info signs bilingual: English and French. Here....no English at all. Hardly seems fair that the French Quebecers make the rest of the country use French, but the country doesn't force Quebec to use English on their signs. Oh well, I guess that just adds to the quaintness of the area and the feeling that you are truly in a foreign country.


This is big time snowmobile country. Lots of sleds here. The locals here call it Skidooing.

Tomorrow I visit the Ice Hotel and plan to tour Old Quebec City----400 years old!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



5th March 2011

Québécois laws and rules
I think they like to be called Québécois. Quebecers is what the English call them. :) Regarding the French only signs, besides being very proud of their culture, they are also very concerned about losing it. That's where all their laws and restrictions come in. I think it has more to do with saving their language for the younger generations than it does anything else. Supposedly, I think Claudine told me that outside of Quebec, most people speak English. I think Montreal has a much larger English speaking population. They also have a huge immigrant population in Montreal, so that probably has a lot to do with it. I wonder what you'll find language-wise in the Gaspe Peninsula. Are they mostly small towns? "Traverse des bourgots" i think this means like the boondocks. it means a small town "where moose-callers cross the road" (whatever that means!!) lol I think it's pretty interesting that they have laws regarding their businesses as well as the government signs. Originally, there was a law that all businesses signs had to be in French only. Then they amended that, and allowed English to be on the signs, too, but the French has to be double the size of the English. Funny! All businesses have to adopt French names, their contracts had to be in French and they had to acquire some sort of certification that proved they can function in French and talk to their employees in French. It is pretty interesting to learn about... I think Claudine had an internship or a job with the government, doing translation for businesses to make sure they were all in compliance with these rules. Obviously, she taught me a lot!!
5th March 2011

Quebecois laws and rules
Is this Heather??? I called them Quebecers because that's what my new friend in Saint-Raymond called himself. I'm aware that the correct word is Quebecois. All the people have been very, very friendly and nice. I dig why they want to keep their French heritage and language. It's really very cool.
6th March 2011

Yep it's me
Hmm..i thought I posted the comments under my travelblog account..i wonder why it has me as anonymous!!
20th October 2012

Moto-Dion and the people I,ve met in ST.Raymond and just about the whole province of Quebec!
Bob&Heather,I can,t even think of where to begin. I,m 56 however I have been riding in Quebec for over 20 yrs. Lets just say everybody, there culture, and there signs are AWSOME!!! A waitress at a place called LaGlaciere in St.Emiele gave me the nickname and we<ve laughed about it ever since. Her name is Claudine and it was 20yrs. ago! How time flys. In2002 my sled blew up.The people at moto-dion helped me beyond belief.The only person who spoke english was a guy named Felix.I rented a sled and still had fun.Bombardier made it right in the end.Couldn,t have been happier! To go to the Gaspe from St.Raymond is a hike.I would have headed for Quebec City",Nord"to Tadoussac, Trail3 continue on trail3 to Baie Comeau, Take the ferry to Matane,"sud" to Riviere Duloupe. People on the W side it,s mostly french but finding somebody that speaks english is never a problem .20yrs. ago OH-BOY The other side mostly english & french. I love Quebec JEFF DUSTI from Shirley,Mass. USA.
21st October 2012

ST. RAYMOND & MOTO-DION
Sorry, my mistake. What was I thinking. LaGLACIERE is a famous hotel in ST. Zenon, next town over! Any sowmobiler in Quebec would know that! You may consider a trip to Chaboogamoo, E-mail me and i,ll tell you the best route depending where you start from. It can easily be done from ST. RAYMOND.The people speak english as well as french. Jeff 10/21/12 First comment was done on 10/20/12
24th October 2012

St. Raymond and Moto Dion
Thanks for the nice comments, St. Jeff. I couldn't agree more. I loved Quebec and if I get the chance to go back, I'll send you an email. Bob

Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb