Will it ever stop raining....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
October 21st 2016
Published: May 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

When I woke up it was still was raining and this would be something that would last the whole day annoyingly. The only saving grace was that for most of the day we would be driving so it did not matter too much that the weather was terrible but I did have a bad feeling that the theme park would not be happening the next day. The drive itself was actually quite boring and there was not anything interesting to see along the way; not that we would have been able to see much anyway! I did manage to drop my phone under the seat and I did not get it back until Grant made his first left turn once entering downtown Montreal. My first impression of Montreal was not a great one to be honest the architecture reminded me of the UEA but my view could have been influenced by the weather in all fairness.



Upon arriving at the hotel we were able to get an excellent parking spot right outside the hotel. Alex needed the toilet so we went ahead to check out the bedrooms. The first one was pretty dingy but the second one was really nice so me and Alex decided to take that one and pretend that it was the first one that we went into. Me, Alex and Jack were sharing this time as these were the names that were pulled out of the hat and just like in Toronto I had the single bed again. Grant and Harv came up to our room and straight away suspected foul play which I initially denied but it was clear to everyone that was exactly what had happened! In my defence I had booked the entire trip so thought I could pick the better room every now and again. Grant wanted to conduct a rock, paper, scissors for the better room but I refused to do this.



I looked up a few good restaurants close to our hotel and before we came we had been recommended to try some poutine and there happened to be a place called poutineville about 10 minutes walk away. When we got there the queue came way outside the door so it was clearly a good place to go and eat so we decided to book a table for the next evening as it was clear we would be outside for quite a while. Jake had looked up the best street for pubs which was also very close to our hotel which was a bonus. Along the way we found a great pub called the Cheval Blanc which had some really good beers in. It was quite awkward when we first went to order a drink because the waitress was speaking French and no-one knew what to say and she quickly realised that we were English and switched language. It was weird to be in Canada but the main language in Montreal was French but that they could also speak English fluently as well. The first drink was really strong and it was clear I needed something to eat to avoid a repeat of the night out in Toronto.



In the end we found an Irish pub where I had a hotdog which to be fair wasn't too bad but I was hoping to eat somewhere a bit better. After eating we just jumped from bar to bar that was along that road the best place being a pub where you could play video games which was awesome and there was also a hot bar woman working there as well which was an added bonus! We had decided that the best way throughout the trip when on a big night out was to take it in turns buying rounds. The final place that we went into was a really dodgy underground club which I did not enjoy at all. It was so crowded and I kept getting pushed around by everyone walking past and I was very glad to leave by the end of the night. Grant managed to pull someone in the club and he ended up going back to hers in the end. He was able to get a lift back from someone to get to the hotel as I was pretty sure he would not have found the way back himself! The weather was still terrible and everyone was really drunk so I did not think that anyone would be up for the theme park the next day and did not set an alarm as a result. Harv also decided that our room was the better one to stay in, quite clearly his form of revenge for losing out on the better room!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb