End of a Montreal Summer


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Montréal
September 28th 2010
Published: October 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Faites le PontFaites le PontFaites le Pont

The Jaques Cartier Bridge in the late afternoon sun
Finally, after 2 years, I get a little bit of a taste of summer! Having spent the last two North American summers in the southern hemisphere, I was lacking more than a bit of vitamin D!

So I was more than ready to put up with one or two of the many heat waves that hit Montreal this summer! Luckily I got to experience one before heading to the cold of Orange, Australia. And I was also happy to come back to warm temperatures, although I could've done without the humidity!

I spent the last month of summer enjoying the warm sunshine as much as I could. I was even up for dawn workouts on Molson field (as an attempt to tone up before the wedding!). I enjoyed walks on the mountain, lazing in the sunshine in the grass in the parks, picnics with Shakespeare in the Park and listened to Inuk throat singers add their own soundtrack to the movie "Nanuk of the North" during the First Nations Festival.

And of course the mandatory beers out on a terrace, or coffee in the sun, or well, just about any excuse to be outside!

I even trekked
Water!Water!Water!

The caribou graced the Quartier des Spectacles during the First Nations Festival
up to Lévis and Montmagny, as well as Ste-Appoline to see my family roots and the house my mom grew up in.

My end of summer also included watching the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montreal, which apparently has some of the same riders as the Tour de France. I also visited La Ronde and Parc Safari with my sister and nephews, brought a pillow to watch movies outside during the International Film Festival, and greeted the pirates at the Old Port when the Tall Ships came to port.

I packed in quite a bit in 2 months! I love Montreal summers!

Enjoy the photos from the city I call home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hello from Parc Safari!Hello from Parc Safari!
Hello from Parc Safari!

We had a fun day visiting the animals!
Dawn over the cityDawn over the city
Dawn over the city

The city skyline at dawn
Les CyclistesLes Cyclistes
Les Cyclistes

Riders in the Grand Prix Cycliste de Montréal
Tall Ships!Tall Ships!
Tall Ships!

There were 5 large sailing ships in port to visit!
Parc Jean DrapeauParc Jean Drapeau
Parc Jean Drapeau

The Biosphere and the site of Piknik Electronik on Ile Ste Helene, as viewed from the Old Port


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb