Last few days of skiing AND VIDEOS!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Mont Tremblant
February 20th 2008
Published: February 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've now finished off the skiing part of my trip in Mont Tremblant and I have to admit that I was sad to leave the mountain today. Since San Francisco, I have done 4 more days of skiing - one with Jon at the weekend and then three on my own in conditions varying from rain (!?) and slush to amazing blue skies with fresh snow overnight for today. Beautiful!!

Jon gave me my end of season skiing exam on Saturday and I passed (not that he had much choice). Unfortunately the 'freestyle' section, which he made up to entertain himself was my lowest scoring discipline, as I still don't have that many moves to be proud of. Apparently there aren't that many points going for smiling, lifting legs up, spinning round in circles and generally looking like a prat in front of hundreds of Americans enjoying a long Presidents' Day weekend...

I have done 25 days of skiing in total, which is maybe not as much as I thought i would do, but its been enough and I'm happy. Given that my skiing experience before coming was limited to about 8 days of lessons at age 14 and
Warming up in the refugeWarming up in the refugeWarming up in the refuge

After seeing that I had the first signs of frost bite on my nose, Jon suggested we have a quick hot chocolate to warm up!
20, I am proud of my progress! I am still not a brilliant skier, but i can get down most slopes without too many tantrums or difficulties.

I have added a couple of videos to the video section of this entry for those so are interested to see how I got on. I expect the audience will be limited to my Mum and Gran but if you do look at them, I am the one in the black top/ grey trousers. You'll notice that the latest video is from quite far away for a lot of it so you won't be able to see it that well.

Here are the links in case the pop-ups aren't working:

Skiing at Christmas - a little slow and cautious (don't laugh! oh and in case you're wondering, yes I am over-exaggerating bending and straightening my legs for Instructor Jon's sake!!):




Skiing last weekend: I'm in the black top and dark grey trousers furthest away from the camera




Skiing last weekend (slightly better clip) Top left in black - the slope flattens out near the camera so i look like an idiot, but
Perfect skiing conditionsPerfect skiing conditionsPerfect skiing conditions

...if it weren't for all the Americans
never mind!





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Place St Bernard Place St Bernard
Place St Bernard

At the foot of the gondola on the South Side
View from Expo mogulsView from Expo moguls
View from Expo moguls

..I told myself I;d tackle them one last time


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb