Iles de la Madeleine - Cap-aux -Meules (again) and Entry island


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Îles de la Madeleine
September 10th 2018
Published: September 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Having visited three islands in one day, I could slow down a bit as I had only one main island yet to visit. I decided to revisit the highlights of Cap-aux-Meules including visits to Plage du Nord, Bel Anse (to view the majestic red rocks from high), L'Etang du Nord lighthouse and Plage du Corfu Island. All easily merited an additional, more leisurely visit. Thus, you may notice some familiar photos from my earlier blogs. Additionally, I visited Parc des Bucks, a lovely hiking area in downtown Cap-aux-Meules. I hiked 3 or 4 trails, basically followed various trails around the perimeter of the park. It took a little over an hour. The trails have good signage but tend to be "rooty" so care has to be taken with your footing. Was one of the first times that I did not see the sea, a beach or a sand dune during my visit. That evening I revisited Bel Anse again for some sunset pictures.

My last day on the islands included a boat ride by Excursions en Mer to Entry island; the only remaining island left for me to see. Leaving Cap-aux-Meules at 1030 AM, we arrived an hour later. We then had around three hours to explore the island. Being a small island (two and a half miles long, one and a half miles wide) it was relatively easy to navigate on foot. My first stop was the lighthouse - non-descript but being a lighthouse I had to visit. Next stop was the main attraction - Big Hill, and the hike up. From afar it appears to be simply another rolling hill. For some reason I focused on the "hill" not the "big" component and was quite surprised to see the path up close. The hike up this steep hill was quite challenging requiring many breaks to catch my breath (disguised of course as photo-opportunities). 30 minutes later I was there. The views were magnificent as this is the highest hill of the Isles de la Madeleine at 174 metres. You could get a good glimpse of three of the islands and see many of the sand dunes and red rocks from this vantage point. You also get a great view of the island and its rolling hill nature with few trees. In fact the many hills are actually treeless. Luckily, it took only 20 minutes to climb down the hill. The views were worth the climb.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



11th September 2018
From the summit

Cette photo est vraiment superbe!! Je ne croyais pas qu'il y avait toutes ces maisons! c'est beau à visiter.
11th September 2018
IMG_20180910_134053

Cette photo aussi est remarquable!
12th September 2018
IMG_20180910_134053

He took off from the top of the Big Hill while I was there,
11th September 2018
L'Etang du Nord Lighthouse

On a beaucoup aimé ce site, on a visité 3 fois pour la vue et le coucher de soleil.
12th September 2018
L'Etang du Nord Lighthouse

Belle Anse, just up the road, was a great sunset place too

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 104; dbt: 0.1448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb