Mad dogs and.......


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Quebec » Beaupré » Mont-Sainte-Anne
January 26th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Crashed Ice 11 secs
So after my last blog I headed out to the mountain and played around with different skis and eventually bought myself a new pair of Head Pure Love skis. They are fab skis and I can already tell the difference in their handling to my old ones they did unfortunately set me back a few £s!

Last night was a quite and chilled one spent in the chalet. Today was a late start and the very few domestic duties we do have called - changing the bed and tidying Marie-Eves and my room.

This afternoon Guy collected us and took us into Quebec city so we could watch the Red Bull Crashed Ice Event. This was one mad event! I was aware from looking at the forecast that it was going to be cold but despite my best endeavours to wrap up warm I did lose all feeling in my feet..... It had been forecast to be -32 however ended up at only -27!!! I can honestly say that I believe the saying "Mad dogs and Englishmen" should be changed to "Mad dogs and Quebecois" as I do not know any other people in their right mind who would go out in weather as cold as that and stand around for 3 hours watching people skate past.

We arrived in Quebec early to ensure we had a standing spot close to the ice so after a wander around we chose our spot on the course. Thereafter we took it in turns to stand by the track whilst others wandered off and tried to get warm. It seemed that George, Guy and I were the only hardened (or stupid) ones as apart from having dinner and getting warm for an hour we stayed out from 3.30pm until 9pm by which time I had lost all feeling in my feet and they had gone past the pain barrier so we headed off to the bar to find the rest of the group who had given up at 7.30pm. Just sitting in the bar was warming up was a mission in itself as the pain of my feet thawing was unbelievable.

I have to say that despite the cold it was really good to watch and the atmosphere was phenomenal especially when a Quebecois was in the race. I have uploaded a video to try and give you an idea of the atmosphere and speed of the skaters. At the fastest point of the course they were averaging 41kmph.

Tomorrow is our final quiet day before ski school starts over and so it is my intention to get up and be out on the mountain for most of the day and try to dispel the mental demons. Its meant to be another cold but cloudless day so may take my camera out and get some more pictures of the mountain and surrounding area.......


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



26th January 2009

How awesome?
That looks top! I wannna go!! I wanna go!! - stop crashing your legs looks like crap, hope you don't meet any gorgeous athletic competitors and get those bad boys out on display x x

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 30; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb