Millie


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
August 7th 2016
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 42.885, -79.252

Millie, 92 going on 93 was our hostess. She lives on a farm by herself. Quite the young spry old lady. She had a sense of humor, good memory and was just a delight to be with.

Since I knew that once we arrive into Canada I would not have internet on my phone, and or course I would not have any phone service also.

When Robyn gave me her address, I couldn't pull it up on GPS. Very frustrating. So in route, Glenn pulled over to a Panera bread store and got me hooked up with the internet. I was able to use the same address and find her home on MapQuest. It was very frustrating, but we managed. I had Glenn take a photo with his iphone, so we would have a copy to help me. Another thing, I didn't have a Canada map either.

So, here we are in a FOREIGN country, with no cell phone coverage, no texting capability, no data plan, no map, no Canadian money either.

We kinda made our way to her farm. We made one wrong turn, and the gentleman at this farmhouse nicely allowed Glenn to call Millie. We turned Left instead of Right. Just about 1 mile off.

So, it was nice to finally arrive at the Farm House. Old home that is at least 200 years old. Millie lives on the left side of the house. Upstairs. And we were on the other side of the house with a private bath, and downstairs a little kitchenette.

Millie has quite the story. Born just a few miles from her home. She had lived here ALL her life. She has 3 adult children (2 boys and 1 girl). Both of her sons died of cancer several years ago, and her husband died several years ago from a heart attack. She works on the farm every morning, working out in the garden. Her dog, Dude stays right besides her.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb