Reality Check......


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
April 10th 2012
Published: April 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well.......I have been home for just shy of a week and the jet lag still lingers. Small price to pay for a glorious trip! It's great to be home and in my own bed (even though the sleep has been fragmented).



Thanks to everyone for checking in on my blog, I hope that it has provided you with some entertainment and insight into various worldly places that you may be thinking of visiting......



Every trip brings about some interesting insights, into ourselves, but also into others......and so goes the next part of the story.........

You might notice some slight changes in the blog entries........a few pictures removed, or you may not notice at all.....and I guess that's the end result.......I want to look back on this trip and only remember what a fab time I had and not really that much about the excess baggage that I took along with me......wasn't that part of my "Things I learned along the way" ? Yes, I believe it was number 8 in the original list: pack light!



Excess baggage is a tricky call... it can drag you down when you least expect it, sometimes before you even leave for the adventure.....it's cumbersome, awkward and generally useless......it's the result of not having done your homework, not really looking into the "cause and effect" consequences.......it seems to require alot of uneccessary attention at the most inappropriate times.....it screams "look at me" in a general useless conversational way.........it drags on you like a ball and chain, keeping you from experiences you might have had otherwise......it crowds a room like a dusty cloud that chokes out a conversation in a nano second......people are looking at it, and wondering why you brought it along....it hides a mountain of secret agendas that you are totally unaware of........yet you haul it along in hopes that it may be of some comfort.......

sometimes excess baggage is free and sometimes we have to pay........physically exhausting, mentally draining or in plain old fashion cash.......and in the end, you just want to leave it somewhere, anywhere......

you had an inclination that you shouldn't bring it with you, but you did.....when you finally get it home and open it up you realize that it was stuffed full of painfully cheap goods, empty pockets, usless information (ad nauseum) and nothing valuable enough to keep for the future.......

so goes the moral of the traveling story:

be careful what or whom you decide to take with you on your next adventure......I know I will

Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.1038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb