My Canadian Christmas


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
December 25th 2005
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A little bit of Japan and a whole lot of Canada!A little bit of Japan and a whole lot of Canada!A little bit of Japan and a whole lot of Canada!

Nothing like a good mixture... the peace symbol which is so commonly seen in pictures containing Japanese people, and a great Canadian sport... snowmobiling!
Just like any other kid, the best part of Christmas for me when I was a child was by far the presents... anyone who says their childhood preferences were different is a liar! However, as I have gotten older (maybe not really matured) I have come to love other things about Christmas... particularly the food! ... haha, and the family. So the fact that I was at home with my family for Christmas this year meant a lot to me.

Here are some things I liked best about going home for Christmas (in no order because that would take too long):
1. The Christmas sweets (4 nanaimo bars a day!)
2. Christmas dinner at Aunt Mary's
3. Having the "guest" treatment at home since my parents hadn't seen me in 5 months.
4. Canadian food! (A.K.A. food with flavor) <-- feta brushetta
5. Seeing family members
6. Spending time with the ladies!
7. Having a real Christmas tree
8. Shopping with mom
9. Seeing Simon (a very cute Pugle)
10. Receiving an English "Ikebana" book from Uncle Paul
11. Gigantic snowball fight after Christmas dinner... thank goodness I wasn't the one who got smoked in the head... twice!
12. Central heating


Things I liked least about going home for Christmas:
1. Having to make the commute back to Japan (which, for the record, took 27.5 hours!!)
2. Simon (the demon) biting me
3. Catching a cold on New Year's... the day before I would be sitting on a plane for over 15 hours.

Yep, it was a great Christmas! Can't wait for next year's!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Easy as pie! (LOL)Easy as pie! (LOL)
Easy as pie! (LOL)

This year it was the girls who cut the tree down.
Christmas tree '05Christmas tree '05
Christmas tree '05

This year I picked out the perfect Christmas tree... it was huge... until we got it home and Dad cut 4 feet off the bottom of it! No worries... I got revenge by making him add extra branches to what was left of the tree!
The calm before the stormThe calm before the storm
The calm before the storm

This table certainly didn't look quite this tidy by the end of dinner.
The turkey carversThe turkey carvers
The turkey carvers

This is one job I will never be seen doing.
Team EffortTeam Effort
Team Effort

Before the huge snowball fight broke out we were all friends and worked together to build these snowmen... and for the record: blue team won!
Great snowmen but....Great snowmen but....
Great snowmen but....

This could have been a great picture to show my students how big Canadian snowmen are... too bad the one of the left has breast! Not exactly school material!


5th January 2006

As much as I hate shopping - let's do it again !
6th January 2006

Happy new year
Nice to see some snow, thanks for the pics ... take care.

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb