Boundary Waters


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario
January 15th 1999
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ever since 1999 my dad and I and others have gone for a week long trip to the Boundary Waters in Nothern Minnesota. This is not for everyone but if you enjoy the outdoors and quite evenings by the campfire than this may be the trip for you. My annual trip north is one of my favorite parts of the year as it is a complete paradigm shift for me . . . when you leave the Boundary Waters certianly feel like you have been removed from civilization for a while as you are basicly removed from the outside world. You canoe many hours to many days into the area and only the occasional sound of a brush plane flying by. There is a lot of work that is associated with this "vacation" such as portaging, long hours of canoing, setting up camp and daily work that must be done around camp but the rewards are also high and worth the work that you put in. There is nothing in the world like watching the sunset on a calm evening in the Boundary Waters . . . if you are physical capable and enjoy the outdoors . . . this is
Monument PortageMonument PortageMonument Portage

Here I am at Monument Portage . . . to my right I have the US and to my left Canada.
a MUST! I have made this trip 7 times between 99 and 06.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

CampCamp
Camp

Here were are competing in a blow dart competition that I set up.


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0186s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb