My Laptop “Died!”


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Wawa
August 14th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My Laptop “Died!”

Tuesday, 14 August 2007

Today was another “de facto” day off. We drove from Schreiber to Wawa, and what with all the stops to take pictures, plus the strong winds blowing at us, there was just no time for me to accomplish anything for the Tour. We did visit Schreiber Beach one last time, and Panna had fun going after a stick in the water - she’s becoming much more comfortable in the water than she was even last year.

As intimated above, the scenery along this stretch of the route was really impressive, blue, blue waters of Lake Superior, the hills, rocks & greenery, and another beach which, except for the temperatures, would put some Caribbean beaches to shame.

Our motel in Wawa was a bit past the main part of town, along highway 17, above the Michipicoten River, more or less surrounded by woods. There is a restaurant very nearby, which is no longer associated with the motel, but which advertises itself as a source for Canadian, Chinese, and CARIBBEAN food, so we had to give it a try. Alas, the Caribbean entrée I’d hoped to try was sold out for the evening, but on the whole we enjoyed the meal very much. The owner is from Trinidad, and I loved hearing her accent. Made me feel at home…

Upon our return from dinner I discovered that my laptop was no longer working! Don’t know what the problem is, but it gets to a point in the boot-up process then stops. This is a real problem for, because I’m already behind in my blog entries due to their memory foul-up (which they HAVE rectified, whew!), and now I’ve got my own computer problems. This may result in a shortening of our stay in Wawa…thank goodness the motel does provide a computer in the lobby for use by guests, so I can email friends & family as needed.

Going outside at night with Panna both Bob & I noticed how really dark it is around here…hello boogeyman!





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



27th August 2007

Home sweet home
Sounds like quite the adventure! Maybe I didn't go back quite far enough but why stop in Saskatchewan and turn around? Alberta is so beautiful! I love reading about travel through my home country of northern Ontario. The restaurant in Wawa: kinniwabi pines? The people are very friendly. Hope the rest of your vacation is/was eventful!
27th August 2007

Home sweet home
thanks for the good thoughts, Katie -- i've actually been through Alberta, tho' not on a bike -- maybe next time we'll fly to Regina then drive west, to finish in BC -- I'm a big fan of marathon road trips, going anywhere! Leah, aka super60

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb