Intro to Euro 2004


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Waterloo
July 1st 2004
Published: April 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Recently found my notes and thought I'd upload them.

***Disclaimer***
I'm not the sort of person who can read a travel guide for long spells - i prefer looking at maps and drawing red lines on them. I can't sit at home and read, "take bus No. 154 for 3 stops, transfer to the red line ..." I am, as a result, totally useless in train stations, airports, bus depots etc. Also I can miss the must-see attraction and end up else where. (I never made it into the Dom in Cologne despite walking past it 5+ times, I did manage to go wading in the Rhine river)
So how did I survive? I travelled with a friend (the Buddy System does work) who is organized and prepared. (Ted) All this to say: probably shouldn't ask me for advice - although you are welcome to.

Backgrounder

I've finished my first year of Economics at Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, On, Canada. Worked for 2months at an industrial ingrediant mixer in Mississauga, ON.


The Plan

I had planned many trips before (ie day-dreamed) however doing it for real is a lot more work. Fortunately I was travelling with a friend - so I wasn't planning solo. We managed to book all of our flights (there-back and an easyJet and RyanAir) and all but one night's stay. It'd be the busy season and we didn't fancy sleeping under bridges.

Supplies

I'll not mention everything I packed, just the good stuff.
-Travel Towel: a tiny piece of "super-absorbant" fabric that never quite absorbed all of the moisture from my body. But it was small and it was summer so it was ok.
-Camera (Nikon F60) and film. Yes I still use film and no x-rays won't damage it.
-lots of different bags, all were usefull,

Things I wish I'd brought
Just one, a small, cheap radio to listen to local stuff on trains and such. Probably could have bought one there.

The Plan (in more Detail)

Fly to London, head up north to Crewe, wish my Nana a Happy Birthday (76th), 'do London' then head out to Euope Proper
loop around in a reversed 'c' from Germany to Poland, Hungary, Slovakia, Austria, Czech Rep, Germany again, Belgium, the Netherlands, then back to London to cath the plane home.

---

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb