#2 The Preamble


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Waterloo
September 6th 2008
Published: September 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Why am I doing this?



Well, I just graduated from University. I was working a job unrelated to my education, with little hope of career advancement. I am 24 years old, and I figure, while I am young and able I should go out and see the world? Sounds good right?
Well, it does to me.

But how is this applicable to my formal education?
Well, since the age of 5, I have been enrolled in French Immersion. I completed my requirements for bilingualism in High School, and continued to pursue French courses at Laurier, completing a minor in 2008.
To be truly bilingual, one must be immersed. What better way than to live and work in France? I can't think of a better way.
So that's another "why".

The last point brings me to this final one. After complete immersion for 8 months in France, I should feel confident in my language ability right? It may be prudent then, to use this knowledge for the good of humanity in some way. I've always looked back fondly on my schooling years, and perhaps teaching may be in the cards for me. So there's that.

(To find out where I am going, and for how long, refer to entry #1: The Itinerary.)

Advertisement



8th September 2008

Good Luck Adrian!
Good luck with everything. Sounds like a fantastic experience, but we'll miss you babe!! I want to see lots of pictures!!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb