Packing Lightly for China


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
June 26th 2006
Published: June 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Having traveled too often with excess luggage, useless items, or awkward equipment, I've decided to work harder at traveling lightly. Minimizing my baggage by paring down my essentials and finding the right "travel friendly" gear has begun to help me towards my eventual goal of traveling using only carry-on luggage. (It's still only a goal - I'm not there yet.)
For overseas trips of 3 to 6 weeks, JB and I generally stay in hotels so carrying camping/sleeping gear is not an issue.

JB has told me I've taken minimalism too far. He has more of a boy scout approach to our touring adventures - BE PREPARED! He has no problem with a large suitcase or an extra bag. In order to convince him of my righteous cause, I've listed my supporting arguements as well as the steps I've taken to prepare for our upcoming trip around China.

I've read that for flying passengers, about 1 in 150 checked bags go missing, get damaged or are pilfered. Convenient wheeled suitcases become heavy, annoying contraptions when a wheel becomes broken or when they have to be carted down irregular streets or up stairs. A suitcase does not seem unwieldy until it is accompanied by a day pack and carry-on bag (filled with stuff in case the checked bags don't make it). Add onto that some hot, humid weather, some crowded public transportation and some potential pickpockets and ...well you see my point.

My first step to baggage freedom was to persuade JB to use the mail system to send home a large box of his clothing, books etc. (JB has been teaching in China for a few months and I will be joining him this week to begin our journey before we both return home). He now has one suitcase with which to travel. I have been reading the advice on Doug Dyment's website and have purchased a great carry-on bag that can be carried back pack style, with handles or with a shoulder strap. I've also bought a small, rugged day pack designed specifically for women. It has a cushioned camera section, padded cross shoulder strap and is meant to be carried in the front for security and easy access. I've been testing it out- going to work, shopping etc and it seems to be great. I have wrinkle free, double duty clothing, money belt, and travel sized everything inside organizers.

So, just when I thought I was going to be able to truely travel unencumbered by too much stuff... JB called tonight. "Bring the large sized blue suitcase with you" he said. " We're gonna need it!" Help!



Advertisement



30th June 2006

Forward Ho1
Good Luck with packing lightly and safe trip Norma. I myself like the true West Indian I am, profess to never having packed lightly. I have however, relinquished the brown paper bag as my carry on for the high tech plastic ones, they are easier to hold. I look forward to reading about your travels. Love Jan
1st July 2006

sounds like you are all prepared. have a great time and keep us posted say HI to JB
1st July 2006

Bon Voyage!
Hey there Norm, I understand that you are already on your way as of yesterday. You must be ultra organized! You are in for a wonderful trip....the history, the art, the culture....but don't forget the fabulous shopping for knock offs! We're all doing fine here and breathing a big sigh of relief...what a crazy year! Looking forward to reading about your travels together. love and hugs, Christy
12th July 2006

Thank for putting us on your list.
What a great idea...beats postcards...hope you have a wonderful time...looking foward to hearing all about it. First time I've every been on a Blog!!!! Make sure J B carries the heavy bags!!!!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb