Ode to Canada


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
April 5th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ode to Canada
By Nicole Schara
4/5/08

(Composed in Toronto during my 4hr layover on the way to London, hey you gotta do something to pass the time.)

Oh Canada, how I love you!

You are so close to London (Well, not really but closer than California)
You satisfy my craving for home
Yet at the same time leave me desiring it more.

Tim Hortons, HSBC, Hockey, Smarties…
You have everything that I need.

Faced with the decision between Starbucks and Tim Hortons,
I choose you Timmy Ho’s.
Roooooll up the rim to win.
I never win; I always get Please Try Again,
But that’s ok, I do try again.

I give you dollars
You give me loonies and toonies
Sweet deal, eh?

Your airports are clean and spacious.
Your Customs Officials are friendly and prompt.
You even stamp my passport.

English alone is not good enough for you.
You speak French as well.
Bilingual, that’s impressive.

Your temperature in celsius a system that I am not familiar with,
You leave me guessing what the weather is going to be like.
I like trying to figure things out.

You produce attractive men and your accent is dreamy
I could listen to you talk all day.

Than you for being you Canada.


Advertisement



15th April 2008

So close to home yet so far away..... Yet Canada seems like your in the neighborhood....Canada would be proud of your poem! Love you, Mom

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0916s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb