NOVA SCOTIA: THUNDER BAY YOUTH HOSTEL


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Thunder Bay
May 23rd 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to OntarioWelcome to OntarioWelcome to Ontario

Where the speed limit is 90km per hour. Painful!

NOVA SCOTIA DAY 2 (May 23, 2010)




I had a refreshing time at the Traveler’s Campground. Rained pretty much all night so breaking camp in the morning was very wet. You have to pack it all on the bike wet and all. I was up at six and on the road at 7:00 am.

One of my traveling traditions is to break camp early, ride for several hours and have a hearty breakfast to get me through the day. I usually don’t stop for lunch but I have a relaxing evening meal close to my daily destination. Today was a little different and I usually don’t do this, but I ate at a “fast food” A&W and had my ‘egg and ham “ sandwich. Remind myself not to do that again…I enjoy the “mom and pop” places so much better.

A bit of a confession. In all my planning, I forgot to factor in the kilometers per hour speed limit that is significantly less than in the States. Speed limit in Manitoba is maximum 100 km @ hour and in Ontario is 90KM @ hour which is about 55- 58 MPH. Needless to say, it is taking
International FriendsInternational FriendsInternational Friends

Ilona from German, Ralph from Holland and Kathleen from Canada. I'm even on their Facebook. Gotta love the youthfullness.
me longer to get from point A to B. (OH WELL).

It was clear when I left Winnipeg but very windy. However, when I got to Sandi Lands Provincial Forest, the wind mysteriously stopped. Gotta love the forest environment. On my Alaska trip, I had forest and mountains out my window for thousands of miles. From this point on I will have the forest to watch and smell for pretty much the remainder of my trip. Flatlands and open space are now gone. I love this ride!

In the spring when you see all the Canadian Geese flying north? Well, I found their final destination. Lots of geese with lots of little ones guiding around. When you look up and see thousands passing through North Dakota one cannot wonder where they finally end up. God sure has made a perfect world, contrary to what we humans do to it. Anyway, it was very rewarding to see and be a part of.

Saw several moose and deer (live) and lots of dead ones along the road. I have to always keep alert because I do not want to hit one of those animals. There are hundreds of trucks
Thunder Bay International  HostelThunder Bay International  HostelThunder Bay International Hostel

On your next travels if you want to try something different, try a HOSTEL
traveling the Trans-Canada Road and most have these huge guardrails on the front of their rigs. You can guess what they prevent….would not look too good on my BMW!

I finally arrived at the Thunder Bay Hostel (Longhouse Village) about 18 km northeast of town. What a treat it was. Many youth travel by bus around Canada. The Greyhound buses go by and will drop hostellers off either on the highway or in front of the hostel (make sure they know you are going to the hostel beforehand). A phone call to Greyhound and you will be picked up to continue your journey.

Here’s the website: http://www.thunderbayhostel.com/

I met the greatest youth that were traveling the world.

There was Ralph Broekhof, Holland, who was taking time from his job to travel for several months around Canada.

Kathleen Selkirk, Pembroke, Ontario, who was in route (via Greyhound bus) to Whitehorse, Yukon, to WWOOF. It is World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms. Never heard of it before, however, it sounds like a great way to spend the summer.

Here’s an excerpt from the website at: http://www.wwoof.ca/node/39

Vacationing and volunteering on Organic Farms is a wonderful way to broaden your education and practical experience. You'll learn about organic gardening and farming, meet people and it is also a great way to travel around Canada inexpensively. Almost 900 farm hosts (and a vast array of different places) from the East Coast to the West Coast, to the Yukon and Northwest Territories, will introduce you to the many interesting aspects of Canadian farms, rural and urban properties. WWOOFing / volunteering has also become a cultural exchange, besides being a helping exchange. You help 4-6 hours a day, 5 - 5 1/2 days per week and receive accommodations, meals and a very interesting experience.

Ilona Neugaertner, Munich, Germany, was traveling around Canada via car. She finds a place she likes, stays a few days and then travels on to her next destination. She spent some time in New Zealand.

Out youth hostel hosts, Willa and John were very accommodating and fun to be around with lots of stories about their “world travels.”

We had a great evening, talked into the night and then parted ways. Ilona said that if we get to Germany, she would like to see us and show us around. Keep that in
All Around The WorldAll Around The WorldAll Around The World

Many hostel travelers will paint a sign from their home country and place on the poles outside the hostel.
mind JoLynn.

The hostel was once a hotel along the main route around Lake Superior so it was an ideal location and spot for the hostel.

Thanks all for reading…have a great day and talk to you soon.

Rob



Advertisement



25th May 2010

ride on
Hey Rob, I'm disappointed I missed your send-off. Looks like all is going well so far. I like the new bike helmet.
25th May 2010

Rain seems to be a common theme starting with the night of your sendoff picnic. Nevertheless it is fun following your trip through the eyes of your blog. Have a safe day Rob.
25th May 2010

Travel Log
Hi Rob, I hope when the opportunity arrives for me to travel like this that I have the discipline to log my travels like you. You just continue to be my mentor in ways I never expected. Rick
25th May 2010

Travel Log
Let me know your mileage for the days ride...Thanks.... Rick
25th May 2010

trip
Hey Rob, You haven't seen beauty yet till you come out to the North East...... looking forward to seeing you... Let us know your ETA. Brad
25th May 2010

Mileage
My daily average has been between 400 and 500 miles...but that is to get to my destination. Once I get to NS, NB and PEI I will average 200 to 300 miles per day...give me time to enjoy the ride.
26th May 2010

Great journal
Rob, it is so cool to ride along with via your daily journal. Keep the great pic coming!
26th May 2010

Safe Travels
Hey Rob, Dick and I just got done reading your blog for May 23. Sounds like you are having a great time and enjoying God's handiworks! We pray for your safety and for all of those four legged animals to stay out of your path! God be with you till we meet again!
26th May 2010

Great travel blog
I am really enjoying traveling along with you through Canada. Your posts are great--keep up the good work!
27th May 2010

great to meet you
We met on the Man/Ont. border. Steve & I enjoyed our visit with you! Just finished reading your blog--WOW!!! I put my message out there for you for no fog on Cabot Trail. Will check in periodically. Travel safe!
28th May 2010

Made it to Cabot Trail
Thanks Chris for logging onto my blog. Made it to Cabot Trail but the weather is terrible last two days. Strong winds and cold temps. Today was rainy on the Cabot in the am but sunny in the pm. Staying at Pleasant Bay and tomorrow is predicting sunny...wohoo. Take care. Keep the sunny side up.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb