Sudbury, Ontario, Canada 2016 edition


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sudbury
October 15th 2016
Published: October 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Sudbury Ontario Canada, my home, my past. For all I complain about my hometown it will always be a part of who I am. For what, I thought of this city is irrelevant, its occupants and the attractions that it has. With a population of 155,000 but with much more coming in for temporary work and other things the population is much higher. In the time that I actually lived in the city and now some things have changed mostly for the best.



Starting with the downtown core.



Sudbury Bridges of Nations



The Sudbury Bridges of Nations has been around since July of 2007. So about the time of my departure the first time of Sudbury. As it stands it has 83 flags from all around the world.



The flags of the Bridges of Nations was originally raised on July 1st, 2007 (Canada Day) to showcase Greater Sudbury multinational and multicultural heritage. The Paris Street Bridge on which the Bridge of Nations is on overlooks the train tracks and the street below.



Close to this minor attraction which takes as long as you can cross the bridge to view, but there are several other places to visit. For those who decide to move to Sudbury from another country there is a place that we have that helps people adapt to life here in Sudbury and northern Ontario. That place is the Multicultural and Folk Arts Association on Van Horne Street. The Bridge of Nations is a beautiful way to show the diversity of the community, the richness of everyone that lives here. Truly the different lives of the people that make up the city of Sudbury.



Moving on to the next sight is



Grotto of Our Lady of Lourdes.



Now this place is different to say the least. Some controversy around it. Not just because of its religious significance but more about its usefulness. The place contains a number of sculptures, a fountain, Stations of the Cross and an amazing view of the downtown area and Ramsey Lake.



In my younger days, I didn’t see a point of a the place and part of my still agrees with it, but as I started traveling and seeing other places of the same religious standing in different countries and places, whether they are Buddhist, Muslim and other Christian sights I began to understand the need for people to be closer to who they call God, or some higher power. I also began to understand the need for a place like this. A place within the city one can go and not be disturbed by the hustle and bustle of city life, a place of serenity and peace. A jewel within the city, an oasis from the hum drum of everyday life regardless of one’s religious beliefs. The tranquility of such a place shocked even myself, a local of the city. The Grotto has been around longer then I know of. Between errands and other things I had figured I’d better go see it. Not knowing what to expect from the Grotto, I tried to not expect that much from the place. Also knowing the city and its reputation for how some of the people using this particular spot for drug use and other nefarious acts. To be honest it’s quite a shame. A beautiful and peaceful place to be used in such a manner. But with that being said I would still suggest anyone going through Sudbury giving this place a visit.



There are other landmarks that do deserve a mention within the Sudbury downtown area. The Tom Davis Square, a municipal building that houses several of the government agencies including the police station and social services, as well as where the city government meets to discuss the needs of the city and how to properly deal with the issues. Tom Davis Square is basically the Town Hall. Also the Sudbury Community Theatre and wonderful place where one can go to see plays and musicals.



There is also Memorial Park. It’s located across from Tom Davis Square and the Police Station. The main purpose of this particular park is to remember and pay homage to those from Sudbury and area that service in the Canadian Navy and lost their lives in active duty during the numerus conflicts throughout the world. There are several plaques and monuments dedicated to those brave men and women of the Canadian Navy. A very peaceful park.



There is also The Rainbow City Centre. This mall has been around for ages and had numerous face lifts through the ages. It is a place that stood the test of time, more or less intact.



Speaking of what’s in the downtown core. Across the street from the Rainbow Center is the city bus terminal and LCBO (liquor store) and of course Tim Hortons. But across the street on the other side is a small park named Hnatyshyn Park. When I say small I do mean small. I would say no more than 100 meters squared. This park is dedicated to the Ukrainian families that moved to Sudbury area and contributed to its prosperity. It is nothing to really look at but mainly because for me as a local Sudbury resident I pass this particular spot on an almost daily basis. Like most other local residences we tend to overlook things we see daily for a variety of reasons, either we see them far too often and become jaded towards it or we just don’t think of it as a possible sight for people to actually see. Maybe both.







Well, for now this is all I have gotten to see of Sudbury. There are plenty of other sights within the city to view some more exciting and interesting than what I have mentioned. So if you do go here and see things that I have not mentioned please let me know of the places so when I do return I can visit them and write about them. But for now this is the end of Sudbury, Ontario. I do plan on adding more over time.



To my friends and family that I couldn't see while I was in Canada, I'm sorry for not being able to see you. I did want to see everyone.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb