Sad Trip to Sudbury


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Sudbury
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

With sadness I returned to Sudbury because my Mother, who had been sick for seven years with multiple myloma was finally relieved from her unending pain. Hemine Smatlanek Calyn died June 12, 2007. She was 83 years old and had accomplished much in her life. She was an artist, a tailor, a weaver, a porcelain doll maker, a great cook and baker and a friend to many. She spoke Slovak, German, Hungarian and English. She crossed the ocean in a tiny freighter in the middle of winter and she trapped rabbits until a wolf chased her in the bush. She worked as a seamstress, waitress and chef. Mom loved her garden... flower and vegetable. I have a passion for Sweet Williams because in her first garden she had lined both sides the whole length of the walkway with Sweet William. She was always busy and the last seven years were a great trial because she could not sit to do anything ... and she was in constant pain.

I went back from Salt Lake City thru Las Vegas Airport to attend the memeorial on June 26. My sister picked me up at Lester Pearson Airport. We stopped at French
  Sunset  Sunset Sunset

The sun set on a fruitful, energetic, giving,kind mother and friend.
River Trading Post and ate one of the ice creams my Mom loved. The memorial was well attended, well organized, and gave many friends time to remiember how they knew and cared for Hermine.


The route back on June 27 took me thru...Sudbury, Toronto, Dallas, Los Angeles ... .

Left Sudbury at 11:45 in a tiny little JAZZ puddle jumper.

Small seat; few people; one hour flight and no water. Had to be satisfied with tomato juice. Once in Toronto had to sprint to get to in transit luggage claim and then had to go thru US Customs…. Just under the wire. I was watching one agent photograph and fingerprint the people going thru his wicket. He did it twice in the half to ¾ hr I was watching him.

Once thru the first gauntlet had to remove the sandles and go thru the magic wand frisk. They do not stand on ceremony in Toronto…men wand women … and I have no qualms telling him my brassiere wires are setting of his stick. On the way to Alaska I had to wait twice until a woman came to do the honours. That time I even had to sit on a chair so that the bottom of my NAKED feet could be observed... and the shoes could be x-rayed.

From Toronto I flew to Dallas Texas. Watched “The Namesake” a movie I can recommend, especially if you are into Indian weddings, Ganges funeral rites and Kolkata. Food and alcoholic drinks were available for a price. Coffee, tea, water and fizzy drinks were complimentary… as opposed to free. Again a small plane but a little bigger than the last one .. Only two people on each side. It did a good share of bouncing as if hitting potholes in the clouds … a weather condition in Dallas forced the plane to circle for a half hour….. And I did not see the end of the movie… almost saw the end but did not see one credit so I did not see the end. The ends of the movies were not provided while we circled!

Toilet seat covers... must be the USofA.

Dallas Airport is bigger than HUGE. A monorail carries passengers to gates A, B, C, D, I think there are even more but I would have to get up from my perch to find the answer.

Very many people are sitting on the floor. Therefore I am not getting up from my sweaty seat at the end of this row. Some people are sitting on the floor in an attempt to get close to a wall socket. More than 100 US Army soldiers in camouflage suits come thru this airport everyday on their way home for two weeks of R&R. They belong to a real army ….. Didn’t get the outfit at Wal-Mart. Citizens are recruited to be a welcoming committee. Twenty Artists are represented in the art that hangs in the Airport.

There are five terminals in the shape of semi circles. There are an average of 50 purchasing opportunities in each terminal. A bi-directional Skylink train connects the terminals.
High heels, sandals, runners, flip-flops, wedges, polished brogues…. All manner of footwear and corresponding variety in clothes can be seen parading before the gates. The seats at MacDonald’s are all occupied and a myriad of small shops offer opportunities to spend money.

From where I am sitting I can see five other laptops being used for one thing or another. To access internet cost $9.99 for t he day. I am in the airport only for three hours and all of that time will not be spent working on the laptop.

Prepared two sandwich buns this morning in anticipation for the piss poor snacks offered on the cheap seat flights. Have eaten one and am on the hunt for juice or coffee to eat the second one. Also brought two bananas. Of course Starbucks has a kiosk here… probably more than one in this huge complex.

I was really disappointed to see Starbucks in extremely poor neighbourhoods in Vancouver and I decided then and there that Starbucks was to be boycotted. The boycott list is growing: shrimp, chocolate, Starbucks, diamonds, and after I have been to that silver mine in Bolivia that starts with a P … will I be able to wear my silver?

Bad weather is hampering flights … hope my flight will takes off.

There is an excitement int the air … a man next to me is not going anywhere and there are no seats to Tulsa for the whole week-end… amgoing to check the status of my flight right now before I get to anxious. And while sitting here am watching CNN and the news item is about flight controllers that do not speak enough English to be safe … that’s a nice report to hear while waiting for a plane.
I am carrying a new bag for my laptop and a cloth bag with my boots and jacket. When I go to check the status for all the flights I have to drag it all with me.

At 7:00 CT my flight is showing up on the monitor as being on time … don’t want to relax too much….seats are being offered according to flight status … something about frequent flyer miles … does not sound democratic to me!

An attendent informed that the airport does not change the status of the planes on the arrivalsédeparture board

While I was in Sudbury I emailed Michel … the cyclist from Quebec. When he replied he was in Wawa so I gave him Walter’s number and low and behold he showed up around six on the 26th . We had a lovely dinner of scrambled eggs, fried potatoes, brie cheese and cherries. He showered and washed a few clothes.
Michel went to sleep early in his tent because he had come 150km in stifling heat. It was a great coincidence that he telephoned from Blueberry Station … that’s about 10 minutes by car west of my place. And to make things even stranger he had planned to stop at Whitefish that night which is just down the road from the turn-off to my place.

By the time it was dark I cleaned up the place, repacked my yellow backpack twice and went to bed for a few hours. I was a bit hyper about rejoining the Truck.

While I was in Sudbury I made sure not to get too comfy because I knew I would have to leave again. The garden is totally covered in weeds. The plants that survive will be rescued next April. The cabbages from last year are growing to seed this year.
I knit a pair of gloves for Zane. I read a book. I watched numerous DVD’s. Thuroughly enjoyed sleeping in my bed and sitting on my toilet. Vacuumed but did not wash the floor. Did a few loads of laundry. Dug out the thistles growing in the lawn… all in one area…but forgot to rake away the withered leaves. Would not be surprised if the roots found their way into the ground. Visited with Rose and Walter. Had the van for one week thanks to the insurance people….. and then the break shoes started to make noise and it was unsafe to drive. The windshield also has a big crack.
Went to the Women’s Institute Potluck dinner and last meeting. It was nice to see all the ladies… about twenty.
The tree that eld the bird feeders has been blown down. Luckily it felll away from the house. Had it fallen toward the house the roof would have been halved. Phoned the tree man and he is coming middle of July to cut down eight trees and anything else threatening the place at $200 a tree. He will cut and stack the big pieces and chip the branches.

No phone, no internet, no TV equals lots of time to think and read and watch videos.

Am looking forward to getting back on the bus … it was harder to leave this time then last May … mainly because I know what I’m in for and how I have to work at managing to get the most out of the trip in such a way so as to suit my expectations. I did leave the Agenda behind. Will be reading the books to prepare for each stop. Am perfecting my hitchhiking thumb and getting info on wherever we stop. Found an article about a train trip down the Amazon … the Amapa Express… built in the 50’s by the US because of manganese deposits. This is a good possibility when I am at the end of this scheduled expedition.



The plane finally left Dallas at 10:36 at night. Because of the change in time zones it was only 12 something when I got to the Radisson in Los ANgeles .... shower. TV and a much needed horizontall position for nothing else but letting my legs get a break from carrying me around for the last 18hours.

Saw only the airport and the view from my window was uninspiring. The flight from L.A. to La Paz, Baja California Sur, Mexico was as interestind as the name is long ... in an airplane that carried only 50 passengers.








Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



29th June 2007

Your Sad Trip
It was great to see you home even though it was for a sad reason. As I read your blogs I don't envy you the trip. I don't have your stamina and I don't like to do without. Camping to me is a motel! I do, however ,really like hearing all about your trip. It was too bad that you had to miss Las Vegas. Being a material girl, I love the place. If you keep writing I'll keep enjoying your trip and reading. .
12th July 2007

we met in Alaska in Ketchikian
in a visitor's center...I live in santa monica and I am french...I started reading your block,it's great...
12th July 2007

I really
enjoyed your words about your mother, the photo and everything, her life full, and enviable I think for all the things tshe went thru...

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0855s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb