Collapse of the Canadian Government


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
March 28th 2011
Saved: September 15th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Less than an hour after I arrived in my nation's capital, the government of Canada fell. We'd been warned that it would happen. I watched things unfold on the live TV on my flight from Calgary to Ottawa. By the time I got to my hotel room (that smelled like a cross between a museum and an ashtray) three blocks away from Parliament Hill, the non-confidence vote had taken place, and the government was done.

I was in Ottawa, my nation's capital, for the first time ever to attend a geoscience student research conference (although representing one of the sponsoring organizations which I volunteer for, not as a student) but as always, I made sure I had at least one day to explore the city myself.

I started out by visiting Parliament Hill which, thanks to the non-confidence vote on the day of my arrival, was open for full tours instead of just partial tours. The tour was good, although the security guards at the end were giving me funny looks because I spent so much time looking at and photographing the fossils in the building stone.

From there, I headed over to Byward Market for lunch at The Highlander Pub, which tags itself as Ottawa's Premiere Scotch Pub. Thanks to their suggested pairings, I enjoyed a fabulous peppercorn steak sandwich with a nice peaty Laphroaig 1/4 Cask. It was the perfect way to warm up before a walk across the river to Québec and the Museum of Civilization.

I was disappointed to find out that the National Gallery and the National History Museum are both closed on Mondays in the winter (what is it with museums being closed on Mondays, anyway? Why can't they be closed on Tuesdays?), but the Museum of Civilization was wonderful. Just seeing some of the West Coast carvings, and the casts of the Bill Reid sculptures, was worth the price of admission alone. Canada Hall was like walking through Canadian history--they even have a display of antique (and rare) Medalta pottery from my home town.

After spending a few hours at the museum I braced myself for the cold walk back to Ontario, where I had time to warm up at Starbucks before heading to the airport for my evening flight home.

I forgive Ottawa for being barren and brown when I was there--there aren't many places in my country that aren't barren and brown in March. I have a feeling I'll be back there again, someday.



Additional photos below
Photos: 100, Displayed: 23


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Parliament HillParliament Hill
Parliament Hill

Manual HDR


Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 36; qc: 135; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb