Cold Canadian Capitals


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Ottawa
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Parliament HillParliament HillParliament Hill

Taken from a bridge which is probably the coldest place I have ever been
I decided that whilst I was in Montreal I would set off to see the capital for a couple of days whilst it was a short train ride away. I was very underprepared for the -24 temperatures when I got there and made a stupid choice to walk 1.5km to a museum rather than take the bus. I don't think I have ever been so cold. Ottawa is actually quite a small city compared to Montreal and is still very French. It is actually right on the border between Ontario and Quebec which is part of the reason why it was even chosen as the capital in the first place. I did a few of the cultural sights such as the Civilisation Museum and a parliament tour, stayed in an old prison in a dorm with 6 bunks which used to be a cell and walked around to see a bit more of the town in the freezing temperatures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Rideau CanalRideau Canal
Rideau Canal

Later in the winter this will become the longest ice-skating rink in the world. Apparently its not cold enough yet (??)


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb