The Golden Yukon...


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Mississauga
April 12th 2011
Published: April 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends and Family,
So it turns out i am that "crazy travelling Registered Nurse" that my awesome friends keep referring to me as. I have just being offered a job working up in Whitehorse, Yukon for the month of May. I am going to be working at a 49 bed Hospital in Whitehorse for 4 weeks and hopefully enjoying every moment of it.
Very excited for such a great experience working in a rural hospital and even more the ability to explore the Yukon! In case some of you guys don’t know where that is, it is indeed still in Canada!! It is in the far north-west corner close to Alaska. There are 33,000 people that live in the whole of Yukon and 24,000 of them reside in Whitehorse, the capital city (where I will be going).
So when I am not working in the unit I plan on getting some great Mountaineering experience under my belt to help me train for my trekking in Nepal this fall. I cannot wait to trek at Miles Canyon and Grey Mountain.
To make things even better, there will be 20 hours of daylight each day! What else can a sun loving girl want and that gives me even more time to enjoy myself outside (hopefully not been chased by bear’s haha).
Right now I am just organizing all of my documents and finishing up business in Toronto, will be off on this adventure in T-minus 3 weeks. If anyone has any ideas of favourite places to go in Whitehorse please fill me in on it!
Truthfully not 100% sure what to expect but that is what makes this all the more interesting! Seems like a good ease into my travels that will take place in the Fall.
Next stop…The Golden Yukon!
Leash


Advertisement



13th April 2011

Take your bike! You can bike everywhere in Whitehorse... Also amazing mountain biking. Have fun! What unit are you working on?
13th April 2011

Hey, Probably cannot take my bike, but maybe i can rent one there? I will be working in their ICU and medical surgical unit! Thanks for the Idea, L

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb