12 days Till Africa - Practice Blog.


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
July 20th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

mom.dad.jomom.dad.jomom.dad.jo

My very supportive parents...Bob and Judy
Hello!

I head to Africa in 12 days - August 1st. This is the first time I have actually counted the days. Guess that means the 'countdown' is officially on.

There are definitely some loose ends I need to tie up here in Canada before I head overseas:

I have to finish my last week of work at Turtle Jacks.
I need to put together my first aid and camping travel kits.
I need to do some summer activities with family and friends (such as go to Canada's Wonderland with my bro, canoe with my dad, dinner and a movie with my mom, campfire and sleepover with my girlfriends, see Ice Age 3, etc.).
Still need to cancel my rogers phone plan.
And tell my credit card company that it's ok if funds start coming out in Africa.

No matter how much I have prepared for this, the last month has been flying by. I regret that there seems to be very little time to share with friends before I leave. So I apologize if I couldn't make the time!

I am definitely ready to start my African adventure. The anticipation has been making me anxious
jo.jamie.jo.jamie.jo.jamie.

My "little" brother, Jamie
for months. After the 2 days it's going to take me to travel from Detroit to Livingstone, Zambia, I will be ready to settle into my new home for the next five months. I wonder how many times a month I'll be able to find an internet cafe to post blog comments?

I bought the coolest tent; I absolutely love it. I should, considering it will be my home for almost half a year! It takes me less than 3 minutes to set up (Jahmeeks timed me). I have all my shots, 5 different types of pills to take, travel insurance, and my one-way ticket all under my belt. I have American money, but I do need to pick up some travellers cheques.

Surprisingly, I am not nervous at all. Maybe I should be? Maybe it's because I've wanted to visit Africa since I was 13 yrs old. and it feels like I've waited a long time to get this trip underway...

The only thing I worry about is other people worrying about me! Yes, I am a woman (potentially travelling solo some of the trip) but I am smart. If I feel unsafe I will get
kitch.girlfriends.kitch.girlfriends.kitch.girlfriends.

My Kitchener Girlfriends
myself a flight and head home. Promise. And I WILL meet people to travel with.

So I suppose this is all I need to write until I am on the continent of Africa.

I promise to do my best to keep this updated. I will work hard to upload pictures as well. But please be patient...with this first time adventure comes a lot of first time experiences and I may need a little bit to get used to everything (especially the technology I'll be using to keep you all in my travel loop).

Thanks for your love and support. I will miss you.

See you on the flip side!

_Jodi




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

st.marysgirlsst.marysgirls
st.marysgirls

My St.Marys Girlfriends
meeksandjomeeksandjo
meeksandjo

Jahmeeks - he wants me to tell you he can take a bullet off his chest and catch it in his teeth...he's cool like that.
jeffnjoeljeffnjoel
jeffnjoel

Jeff (the guy who is GOING to MEET me in AFRICA) and "colours man" Joel.
halloweenfriendshalloweenfriends
halloweenfriends

My favourite Milton couple.
denisnnialdenisnnial
denisnnial

Denis and Nial...some great Cameron athletes and good friends.
hilandjodihilandjodi
hilandjodi

Hilary (my sister from another mister)
kitchboyskitchboys
kitchboys

These guys can really make me laugh.
mullz,skip,memullz,skip,me
mullz,skip,me

Mullzy and Skip. Delightfully cheerful fellas...a pleasure to be around.
st.maryscrewst.maryscrew
st.maryscrew

Some old but good St.Marys friends.
sleepymaddoxsleepymaddox
sleepymaddox

Maddox...my favourite animal on the planet.


21st July 2009

Have fun!!
Hey Jodes, I think this is the coolest site ever! Did anyone ever tell you what an amazing writer you are?!!! I am looking forward to keeping up with your adventures!!! Good luck, be safe, and I do believe you when you say that you are a smart girl, b/c I know you are....Happy travelling!!!!! xoxox

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb