Job Search and Catching Up With Friends


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
September 19th 2007
Published: September 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Chris comes to KDubs!Chris comes to KDubs!Chris comes to KDubs!

Chris (that I worked with in Honduras) came to visit me in Kitchener-Waterloo. It was nice and made me feel like I didn't just dream my year in Honduras
Many of you are already aware but the nanny job didn't work out. I just didn't agree with a lot of the ways the parents were raising their children and I didn't feel like I meshed with the family. There were many issues with the behavior of their 4 year old son, and I just wasn't patient enough to deal with things that I thought were inappropriate for a 4 year old but were justified by the parents.

So... I'm on a Job Search again. I need a well paying job for the weekdays. I'm hoping to get onto a supply list. I don't even care which board. If I have to drive far to a job, I have to drive. As long as I get the money.

I also have a couple other interviews coming up for other small jobs. I don't wanna jinx them but I'll keep you posted.

As for my other 3 jobs, I'm enjoying them so far. The Kumon tutoring is fun and easy money. I like the woman I work for and things feel easy. I also started my dance instructor job tonight. It was a relief to find 4 year olds
Dinner With Camp FriendsDinner With Camp FriendsDinner With Camp Friends

Andrea, Celeste, Sandra, Aaron and I found a random Chinese restaurant for dinner. It was fantastic!
who warm my heart and make me giggle. Kinder ballet is such a riot to watch. 12 cute little girls in pink tu-tus. Beginner hip hop was fun too. 8-10 year olds including 5 boys (out of 12 kids, that's awesome!) Tomorrow is adult hip hop. Mom and Ginny are registered. Should be fun. Friday is youth drop in. Saturday is another kinder ballet, another beginner hip hop, and an advanced hip hop. LOVE teaching dance. Perhaps I should open a studio.

I have been enjoying catching up with friends that I haven't seen for awhile. This last month has been great for that. Chris came to visit (see pic) which was nice. Having a car helps to visit all my campy friends in Toronto too. Finally got to meet Estelle's partner Justin. Got to see the Bricker Family (dons I was on staff with at Laurier) which included Jill before her journey to Japan to teach, and Eric before he leaves for France to teach. My friend Kristina got married. My friend Jessa is pregnant. Friends are wonderful.

Anyways, that's my busy life update.

A Honduras update: Comayagua was not affected much by Hurricane Felix. Walt,
Kristina's WeddingKristina's WeddingKristina's Wedding

Fun with old high school friends
my old students, and old teacher friends (Leah, Julie, and Nadia stayed another year) informed me that it was all just a lot of rain. Walter is doing well. Despite losing his construction job, his spirits are pretty high. He's looking for teaching work, as he enjoys teaching the computer classes at the centre. Alma (my sponsored child) is also doing well. I got a letter from her (via the organization Compassion) telling me she missed me. Apparently all the people at the centre ask Walter about me. As do his friends. He says I was loved by a lot of people in Honduras. It makes me miss it. A few of my students talk to me on msn and tell me how they cry for me because they miss me. Alexssa offered to pay money to make me come back. Alexssa was my most improved student last year. She went from failing 6 classes, to almost being on the honor roll. I do miss those kids. I miss the people. I miss the centre. I miss the weather. Canada feels cold. I miss Walt. I miss the landscape. I miss the country. I may have to visit.

Advertisement



19th September 2007

Hi Sarah-i didn't realize that the nanny job didn't work out....sure sounds like you made the right decision in leaving though. When child rearing values don't mesh.....disaster! Good luck with your job search. I'm sure something will come through soon. In the meantime, glad to hear you're enjoying all of your other activities. Glad that your friends are safe in Honduras..the media showed some pretty ugly stuff happening there. Thanks for keeping in touch. Hope to see you soon.
24th September 2007

Hi Sarah - so sorry the nanny job didn't work out!! It's really hard when you and the parents don't see eye-to-eye. (I'm just about to go through the nanny hunt myself...not looking forward to that one!) Here's hoping you can find something fast and good paying. :o) And I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying your dance classes - that must be so fun to watch the little ones boogie. (((hugs)))

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb