4 am...arg


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kitchener
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After sitting in the terminal at Miami international for what seemed like a lifetime they called the flights boarding number to Toronto. I was so happy to be going home - exhausted but happy.

The flight was ok, I was delusional, excited and overly tired. I had been up for almost 24 hours. I just wanted to sleep. But sleep wasn’t an option. There was a young girl, who was resting beside me for most of the flight home, and then she started to cry, her ears would not pop. There was a lot of turbulence on the flight and her ears kept on getting clogged. So I sat there watched movie with subtle sounds of her cries.

We landed in Toronto, everyone was leaving the plane and the mother looked at me and said, thank you for your patience. I said, “No worries, she’s only a child”. I headed to immigration who were actually very nice to me, as I was sure to tell them that I was crew. I headed to get a trolley to help with my bags, because I knew they were heaving. You see I came to Carnival with only one large suitcase and I was leaving with that same case, and two duffle bags - large ones too.

I collected my bags and headed for a taxi. I got in the taxi and headed home. I can never sleep in taxi’s I just don’t trust them. To me it is like getting into a complete strangers car and trusting them with everything. Well I have seen enough horror movies to know how trusting of strangers goes. I got home where my father greeted me and all I remember saying to him is, HI and that I would talk to him tomorrow as I needed sleep.

I slept until 3 pm the next day, but woke up thinking it was time for work. My mind still hadn’t switched off of working early mornings on the ship. I unpacked, and then it was mere hours until family started to call and show up at my house. They all wanted to see hear and experience what I had though picture and stories of the past 6 months. They were shocked, thrilled and excited for what I had been through. I handed out the souvenirs I had picked up which were loved by all.
Read the sign.Read the sign.Read the sign.

This is the sign that is on your back when you sky dive, i just love this picture. Shouldn't this warning be on the front though.


The rest of the week brought the same type of thing for me.

On Saturday night I attended Erica and John’s wedding. Erica was my roommate in College. We had a blast, she looked great and the evening brought together a whole new kind of memories. It was so awesome to see so many people from high school, college and friends met through others. To know what everyone is up to know, and see how they have changed. Some bigger, some smaller, some with more experience and some the same ol person. It is amazing to see the dichotomy of change.

I will be heading to Toronto to see Diane for a week or so on Sunday. We always have a great time so I am sure I will have lots of memories to share from that experience.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



23rd May 2007

From Jeanette´s Crazy Friend Sarah
I saw a bunch of these photos of you guys in the costume room from Netter´s facebook. Looks like you had a wonderfully silly time. Feel good to be back in Canada? I miss Canada. Looking forward to being home myself. I too, am heading to a wedding the week I get back. Seems like a nice way to see everyone in one place. One big party. Thanks for sharing your experiences. Interesting to read them. Nice to get another perspective of Netter´s life on board. You´ve really been a great friend to her.
27th May 2007

Click your heels three times
You are more than welcome. I wrote my blog, for my family and friends and anyone else who came across it to get a little further insight on what was adventure was like. I am glad that you took something from it. I honeslty think I am a horrible writer, I dont follow style or care about punctuation etc.. I just write whats in my heads and it comes out of my fingers to the keys and VOILA. I can definately empathize about coming home, although our adventures have been very different the feeling is generally the same I bet. Safe travels home, and no worries about me being friends with netter, she is a fantastic girl :P

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb