One more sleep ....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kingston
June 1st 2015
Published: June 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Mountain ViewsMountain ViewsMountain Views

One of the many reasons over 120,000 people do this every year ...
Well, this is it - my last night in Kingston for 6 weeks! I am leaving for Spain tomorrow evening to begin the first leg of an adventure I have been wanting to undertake for about 8 years. It all began when I read a very entertaining book called "What the Psychic Told the Pilgrim" by Jane Christmas. It is the story of a woman who, in her 50th year, learns about something called the "Camino de Santiago" or "The Way of Saint James" - an ancient pilgrimage which leads to a beautiful cathedral in Santiago, Spain which is believed to be the burial place of St. James. Pilgrims (or "perigrinos") have been making their way to Santiago for over a thousand years, over various routes. The route I am taking is called the Camino Frances; which stretches nearly 800 km from St. Jean Pied-de-Port, France over the Pyrenees and across northern Spain to Santiago, Spain. I plan to hike the entire route in approximately 35 to 37 days provided my body and mind hold out : ).

Advertisement



2nd June 2015

So excited for you Lynda and can't wait to follow your travels...buen Camino.
2nd June 2015

Love from LaLa
God Bless Lynda . . . I'm sure you're feeling emotional. Take a deep breath and breathe in the moment. This is an incredible time in your life. Be 'in' it. Stay 'in' it. Experience every step. xoxo
2nd June 2015

Good luck!
So excited for you and this incredible journey Lynda! I look forward to following you along the way. Safe travels. Namaste.
2nd June 2015

Good Luck
Hey girl, I hope your journey brings you everything you are looking for, searching for and if nothing else, peace from a houseful of men!! Be safe, have fun and send lots of pictures for us back in Canada to evvy but more importantly enjoy!! Big hugs, Michelle XXXX
2nd June 2015

Best wishes on your amazing journey, Lynda!
This sounds so darn exciting! I can't wait to follow your progress and cheer you on. It is so weird but Ted is over there in Spain right now, also (just this week). Have fun, and safe travels to you, my friend. OX
2nd June 2015

blessings my friend
we look forward to travelling with you on this journey. God bless you!
2nd June 2015

blessings my friend
we look forward to travelling with you on this journey. God bless you!
2nd June 2015

blessings my friend
we look forward to travelling with you on this journey. God bless you!
2nd June 2015

blessings my friend
we look forward to travelling with you on this journey. God bless you!
2nd June 2015

A new adventure
May your journey be filled with wonderful new friends and memories. I remember after each child I saw the world in the way they saw the wonder in the simple things. Share this trip with your grandchildren in mind and you will see more than most. No matter how many pictures we take it is the experience that speaks to us. Safe travels and may your blisters be few!
2nd June 2015

A new adventure
May your journey be filled with wonderful new friends and memories. I remember after each child I saw the world in the way they saw the wonder in the simple things. Share this trip with your grandchildren in mind and you will see more than most. No matter how many pictures we take it is the experience that speaks to us. Safe travels and may your blisters be few!
2nd June 2015

A new adventure
May your journey be filled with wonderful new friends and memories. I remember after each child I saw the world in the way they saw the wonder in the simple things. Share this trip with your grandchildren in mind and you will see more than most. No matter how many pictures we take it is the experience that speaks to us. Safe travels and may your blisters be few!
2nd June 2015

A new adventure
May your journey be filled with wonderful new friends and memories. I remember after each child I saw the world in the way they saw the wonder in the simple things. Share this trip with your grandchildren in mind and you will see more than most. No matter how many pictures we take it is the experience that speaks to us. Safe travels and may your blisters be few!
2nd June 2015

A new adventure
May your journey be filled with wonderful new friends and memories. I remember after each child I saw the world in the way they saw the wonder in the simple things. Share this trip with your grandchildren in mind and you will see more than most. No matter how many pictures we take it is the experience that speaks to us. Safe travels and may your blisters be few!
2nd June 2015

A new adventure
May your journey be filled with wonderful new friends and memories. I remember after each child I saw the world in the way they saw the wonder in the simple things. Share this trip with your grandchildren in mind and you will see more than most. No matter how many pictures we take it is the experience that speaks to us. Safe travels and may your blisters be few!
2nd June 2015

best wishes
How exciting, cant wait to follow your travels, you go girl :)
2nd June 2015

Take in the spectacular view of a Full Moon tonight
The month of June's full Moon's name is the Full Strawberry Moon. June's Full Strawberry Moon got its name because the Algonquin tribes knew it as a signal to gather ripening fruit. Full Moon: June 2, 12:19 P.M EST. Know that I am admiring the same moon from 'home'.
3rd June 2015

Wow! You have just started blogging and you already have 9 Followers...
probably your friends. In any case, with that many Followers any blog you write with at least 500 words and 4 pictures will show up on the Front Page which is what people see when they go to Travelblog.org. I look forward to reading about your time on the Camino...inspiring me for my walk next year.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb