Finding my roots in Kingston, Ontario


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Kingston
October 23rd 2011
Published: October 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

While visiting my cousin Susan, and her husband Guy, in Kingston, Ontario, she gave me a history lesson of our family (which was right up her alley as a retired history teacher!)

My great grandfather (x 7) was Captain Michael Grass, who was considered instrumental in establishing the City of Kingston and a Father of Upper Canada. Originally from Germany, he spent some time in both Philadelphia & New York. He served in the 60th regiment during the Seven Years War, served as an officer in the Tryon County Militia, and also served in the New York City Militia as a first Lieutenant. As a Loyalist, he was commissioned to bring a small group of families to settle along the shores of Lake Ontario in 1784. He settled on a parcel of land himself, which is now Macdonald Park at Mississauga Point, in Kingston. He took a leading part during the first years of the settlement at Kingston. He was appointed a magistrate, and performed many of the first marriages in Kingston.

There are two area in Kingston honouring Captain Michael Grass – Grass Creek Park, where Grass Creek meets the St. Lawrence River, and a plaque at Mississauga Point, where he first landed. I felt very honoured!

Susan and Guy also toured us around Kingston, visiting many historic sites – one of the best being lunch and beer at the Brew Pub! It was a great visit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



29th October 2011

Kingston
Really enjoyed your Kingston blog as were just there in May for Chad's grad. Very cool about your great grandfather (X7)!! We also toured Sir John A McDonald's house. The poor wife!!
5th November 2011

Ancestors
What fun - wish I had some notable ancestry. Rick claims that his Uncle Ogden discovered Utah and that there is a monument to him there. Ha, ha. I haven't seen it yet.
23rd July 2014

Family tree
Was just watching a show on tv about ancestry. Kingston is a great city. My father grew up there and I always enjoy going to visit my grandmother and aunt. My father's uncle Preston Sturgess about 15yrs ago began a family tree and I too am part of the Michael Grass lineage. I think it is really amazing to beable to trace back so far.
2nd March 2015

Just saw your response. No on this site much as I haven't entered anything new since our travel East. Plan to do it again this summer! My cousin, who lives in Kingston, is the ancestry buff. I will pass on your comment to her, as I'm sure she has done a family tree as well.
2nd March 2015

Just saw your response. No on this site much as I haven't entered anything new since our travel East. Plan to do it again this summer! My cousin, who lives in Kingston, is the ancestry buff. I will pass on your comment to her, as I'm sure she has done a family tree as well.
2nd March 2015

Just saw your response. No on this site much as I haven't entered anything new since our travel East. Plan to do it again this summer! My cousin, who lives in Kingston, is the ancestry buff. I will pass on your comment to her, as I'm sure she has done a family tree as well.
2nd March 2015

Just saw your response. No on this site much as I haven't entered anything new since our travel East. Plan to do it again this summer! My cousin, who lives in Kingston, is the ancestry buff. I will pass on your comment to her, as I'm sure she has done a family tree as well.

Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb