One night in Hawkestone


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Hawkestone
July 2nd 2021
Published: July 2nd 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 1. 242Km.

If you’re reading this in the future do you remember Covid19? Well because of it the Canadian/American borders are closed to non essential traffic so I have to take the long way around Lake Superior adding many hours and kilometres to the trip. That means driving up through cottage country north of Toronto on a long weekend and since it’s 800Km from home to Sault Ste. Marie I decided to break it over two days. As I suspected the traffic on Hwy 400 toward Barrie was nasty so it was the correct decision even though I had to pay for three nights because it IS a long weekend. That will officially make this the most expensive night of camping at almost $200. Unlike the trailer I had when I made this trip in 2009 this one has a forward bed so I don’t have to take the bike out to sleep I just have to not trip over the straps while moving around. With minimal setup since it’s just one night I put a couple hot dogs on the BBQ just as the thunder started. A little hail mixed in with the downpour didn’t last very long but a light rain has persisted for a couple hours but the sky does look like it’s lightening up so just might be able to get a fire going for the evening. Fingers crossed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb