August 14th-16th


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Sydney
August 19th 2013
Published: August 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I stayed at a most wonderful BnB in North Sydney, Heritage Home. It is an old preserved home from the early years right on the water front. The rooms reflect the time period and there are multiple places to sit and take your ease. Inside, in one of three parlours. Outside, on the back deck, in the garden, or on the front porch looking at the sea. That was my option. But first, I arrived and no one was there. The door was unlocked, there were notes for me and a few others, but no guests and no hosts....disconcerting. There was a note listing the best restaurants, so I went and had fish and chips at the Waterside. Excellent. It was walking distance, which I needed after the pile of fresh cut fries. Still no one home when I returned, so I took advantage of the shower and sat on the deck reading to the sound of the waves, quite perfect. Once my host got home, I could access Internet and found that I no longer needed to be at the ferry dock at 3, I could sleep in and be there by 6. A banana and muffin were left for me to take on the ferry.

The ferry was huge and the waters were calm, at least half way there. I went outside and watched as the swells got bigger. I think I should have been a sailor; I love being on the water. Once we got to NFL you get of the boat and you're on the highway immediately and I just drove. I'm getting a better and better picture of the similarities and differences of the landscapes of Canada. I loved the first 100 km with its huge hill mountains even with the 70 km winds. I found a campground at Deer Lake to ease my sleep weary body, then up again in the morning so I could get to St Johns to see Harvey. There are more mountains here than I realized and some landscapes that seem to come from the moon. It's lovely, too many places to visit and stay.

Sweet dreams and goodnight.

Advertisement



19th August 2013
image

Novia Scotia
I've always wanted to go to Novia Scotia and this sounds like a lovely place to stay.
5th September 2013

Happy Journeys
Hi Gill, great to see the photos of the house and particularily like the one of the chairs and the church. If you have any time at all, perhaps next year, when you are finished your journey, you could send it. Sorry I wasn't here when you arrived, it really didn't sound like anyone was looking after the place. Sometimes, I just need a break and usually have the girl that works for me show up when I disappear for a little while. Hope you enjoyed the sitdown breakfast, a little more interesting than the muffin and banana on the go. Nice to have met you and all the best with your journey, it will be an amazing trip for your son. Take care, Juana
6th September 2013

Dear Jauna, I felt so welcomed and as though North Sydney was the most safe place in the world, when you left notes at the door for us. I did not see it, at all as a draw back. I'll send that photo when I can. I need a full computer so it could even be in October. Thanks again, Gillian
6th September 2013

Dear Jauna, I felt so welcomed and as though North Sydney was the most safe place in the world, when you left notes at the door for us. I did not see it, at all as a draw back. I'll send that photo when I can. I need a full computer so it could even be in October. Thanks again, Gillian

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb