One Big Vacation


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Nova Scotia » Antigonish
August 10th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I would say that aptly describes how the East Coast is treating me. My job has become very relaxing after a switch in focus from compiling massive preliminary indexes for a bibliography to a research project. The professor I'm working with is a wonderful man -- he gave me a paper to do on how oil money interacts with the political economy of Equatorial Guinea, which is now the top third oil producing African nation. So needless to say it pertains well to the academic side of next year and is holding my interest! He also needed someone to cat/house sit while he was away and I was the lucky one who got the job! This meant that I got to stay in his quaint house in rural NS, right near the beach, with a car for two weeks! It was fabulous 😊

On the weekends it's all fun and games though (... and sometimes during the week too :P)! Three weekends ago, I made it up to PEI with Marc and some of his friends from school to go to the Aerosmith concert. Although we had to camp in the rain and stand in a virtual mud pit for
Jellies!Jellies!Jellies!

To correspond with my last entry about all of the jellyfish that were in the water... this was Stuart teaching me how to pick them up without getting stung -- they really do feel cool!
7 hours in order to see them, it was still fun nonetheless! We also had a crazy incident with some Chinese food... The next weekend was more low key -- a few of my friends and I went up to Kejimujik National Park in southern Nova Scotia. Although we had some initial reservation mishaps, we enjoyed beautiful swims in the lake (which I needed that after all the jellies!), canoeing that ended in severe PDF looking burns for Stuart and I, and just all around gorgeous scenery! We even got to see some loons and a lot of deer up close 😊.

This past weekend Andrew came down to join me for almost a week, which was awesome. As usual, we tried to pack an insane amount of stuff into 6 days, so we managed to see Antigonish, PEI, and Cape Breton! Cape Breton was my favorite, I will have to say. Some of the most beautiful scenery I have seen all summer!We stayed in a cottage with Marc and a freind in PEI, where we experienced some of the coolest lightening storms I've seen in a while as well as a surprise from the neighboring cows at night
"Team Shirts""Team Shirts""Team Shirts"

Yes, we all had shirts with different Aerosmith songs on the front...
whose pasture went right up to the back porch! In Cape Breton we got to enjoy our very own B&B suite, which was located right on the coast of western Cape Breton -- again, beautiful. We also got to laze around on the Atlantic in southern Cape Breton the next day and built the beach shelter shown below 😊

All in all, everything is going well out here! I only have two and half weeks left and then I am off to Ottawa for a week and a half of training. From there it's onwards to Toronto and the preparation for Ghana that awaits me! Looking forward to coming back home... 😊

Courtney


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

"Dude Looks Like A Lady""Dude Looks Like A Lady"
"Dude Looks Like A Lady"

... and a picture of one of the guys dressed as a woman for "Dude Looks Like a Lady" on the back. Needless to say, we were a popular group for photo taking!
JadedJaded
Jaded

Yes, I had to rock out to Jaded. It was on my shirt...
Beach near the ferryBeach near the ferry
Beach near the ferry

Having to wait four hours for the ferry wasn't as bad as it could have been because we got to go swimming along this coast :)
The Keji CrewThe Keji Crew
The Keji Crew

Lisa, Stu, me, Marc
Mersey River, off of Keji LakeMersey River, off of Keji Lake
Mersey River, off of Keji Lake

Stu and I drifting in our canoe down the river
Beach in Port Hood, CBBeach in Port Hood, CB
Beach in Port Hood, CB

Oh that's right. We built a beach shelter.


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb