Arrival, Tours, and Shut down gold mines....


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Northwest Territories » Yellowknife
September 2nd 2012
Published: September 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sup homies!

I made it! Woot woot woot! I have got some pretty sweet digs here living with the lovely Nadia. The room is quite cottagy and I was lucky to pick up some groceries on my way into town so I'm all set.

I am still figuring out my camera so I have no new pictures to post- but tomorrow I am going to wander. I got a driving tour through Old Town today and it is sweet yo. Like super gorgeous with amazing unique real estate and a big ol' rock cliff that overlooks Slave Lake and the city. Simply amazing.

Other things I found out that are awesome include:

-They sell fresh fish in front of the KFC every three days. (I also think this is hilarious.)

-There is an aboriginal school on the reserve responsible for government but also local cultural education. I did a project on this last year, so I am rather intrigued. I also found out that child protection is a huge issue around here, so much so that the government recently appointed a children's lawyer. I have a feeling that my essay topic might change....

-If you go into the local fish and chip place with a cell phone and it goes off, the owner threatens to take it and throw it into the fryer. She believes in un-interrupted meals. Well done.

-In attempting to find a local coffee shop, I found the local Vietnamese, Chinese, Thai place. Luckily they sell coffee and the take-out menu looks bomb.

-The gold mines are all shut down. Damn. I was hoping to make millions prospecting on the side.

-There is a Walmart, McDonalds, previously mentioned KFC, Subway (good lord), and all sorts of chain restaurants. But, really, no way jose, I am going local or bust!

-There is a full bar in the gym. Ha ha ha ha ha ha.....why, after this work-out I'd love a pint! (Not.)

There was much more during my driving tour, but my brain was at capacity. I'll be in touch with more adventures!!

Thinking about you all,

Sarah/Donks/Donkey/Donohue/Splash, etc....

Advertisement



3rd September 2012

I am so envious of you !!!!! enjoy it sweetie
6th September 2012

Will be following your adventure ...
Sarah, Interesting read. I can only imagine how eye-opening it is to see first hand the reality of life for many people compared to what we've seen television reports and features. The full bar in the gym, isn't that how many university campuses are anyway? Glad you've arrived safely and in good spirits!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb