To St. Stephen - Away from Snow!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Woodstock
May 9th 2016
Published: May 11th 2016
Edit Blog Post

McAdam Station MuseumMcAdam Station MuseumMcAdam Station Museum

The place was closed, had no paved approach, was fronted by a live rail line and is rumouredto serve amazing pies.
Monday 09.05,2016

What a day! Stayed in my cosy feather bed until after nine. Outside the van ALL was covered in snow. The wind had been so strong during the night the van swayed noticeably on its four sturdy wheels.

Phoned the lady in charge and she agreed to meet me in town and return my next nights camp fee. After another morning of a greasy breakie from Mac’s plus good coffee I drove off to find my Argentinian friend from Buenos Aires who lived in NB and I had met in Ottawa where she invited me to see her paintings in a juried exhibit put on by the Venezuelans.

She and her husband are not at home but the neighbours have a key. I found 3502 on route 635 but no 3500.

Well ! ... turns out I was really off track ... they live in Douglas near Fredricton. I knew that in February ... have no idea why that escaped my brain ... 3500 is the address of Briggs &Little, the wool outlet. Anyway ...what's done is done. Will try to arrange a meeting in August ... maybe fly down or take a bus or
French Fry Capitol !French Fry Capitol !French Fry Capitol !

A McCain's factory is close by ...also a McCain fertilizer factory ... is it using the potato peelings??
just keep on driving some more and come back to Sudbury in September ... what the heck ... have come this far ...may as well keep going!

Continued driving to McAdam where I found a poor town with a magnificent railroad station. The building was closed and the town had no motel.

…found all that at the local secured seniors’ residence. From far away it looked like a possible cheechee hotel. Anyway the PSW who answered the door said my best bet would e St. Stephens.

Sixty-nine km later I have booked into the Winsome Motel, have eaten liver and onions at Carmen’s and chatted with two women who were also customers. Having accepted their invitation, we ate together at one table.

I have taken two HOTHOT showers. One before the liver and one on my return to the motel room. Have arranged to stay longer at the place I am booked into for Saturday. So?!?... I stay a little longer in luxury.

Otherwise it was a day of dawdling from one great thing to another.

1. Drove past the French fry capitol of the world – Florence Ville-Bristol

2. Stopped at the
Waiting for Spud PlantingWaiting for Spud PlantingWaiting for Spud Planting

... brown fields as far as the eye could see.
World's Longest Covered Bridge Gift Shop to buy a patch of the New Brunswick flag to join my other patches that I sew on nbackpacks or laptop covers.

3. Drove past hectare upon hectare of brown groomed fields waiting for the planting of potato eyes, this being potato country. Potatoes or lumber. Passed clear cut sections, ravaged sections along the road where trees and shrubs had been mangled and left to disfigure the side of the road.

4. Took a picture of Truscott, the only jockey I ever saw in a race. The only horse race I have ever seen not counting the Hong Kong race track or the million dollar stake race I saw from a street car in Kolkata. Truscott won the Triple Crown with Secretariat, on whom I had bet a dollar. I still have the two dollar paper bill that I won.

5. Passed thru the world’s longest covered bridge. There are no directional lights. When approaching the bridge one looks down its length and decides when it is safe to proceed on thru. On the other side the local library was closed … so much for the idea of having a pee in there!

6. Drove, drove, drove down ..... secondary road 105 with only the occasional car, very few transports and an obliging school bus driver… he let cars pass once the kids had been deposited safely.

7. Was received by a friendly receptionist, at the first motel I saw, The Winsome in St.Stephen. Paid to stay in Room 25 which has only one window (drapes must be closed …hate that) and she told me about Carmen’s Diner. The bed was fantastic and had a real duvet!

When waking in the morning my ASS_US tablet was a goner …oh s*&^t …not again. Took the thing to COX electronics … they had amazingly huge TV’s. To make a long story short the technician did something that made the tablet work and I did not have to gratify the urge to buy a new device. Have now taped the power feed to the side of the screen with red electricaltape from the Dollarstore. Seems OK …except for the morning of May 10th when the piece of s*&^%!t(MISSING) began self-repairing!!! The Asus better keep on working. Hate to have to pull out my big laptop… brought that in case of emergency … so far … no REAL emergency will inform if that should happen.



1. Loose table

2. Tablet stolen

3. Van stolen … that would mean laptop gone too …OMG OMG OMG …let me not call the devil!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Two Beauties Two Beauties
Two Beauties

These ponies were behind an electric fence beside a delapitated house ... so pretty ..the horsesnot the house.
Truscotte in BronzeTruscotte in Bronze
Truscotte in Bronze

The jockey came from Grand Falls. I saw him race in Toronto on Secretariat the horse that won the Triple Crown.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb