August 10th-13th


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Fredericton
August 13th 2013
Published: August 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I put Jacob on the plane on Saturday; first solo flight, and he was a pro. I stayed in Ottawa to catch up on details. I had a lovely final dinner with Gary and Louise, where Gary and I drank too much scotch, and we all decided that they would join Jacob and I in Peru for the Machu Picchu tour.

Monday, I got on the road again heading to St Johns Newfoundland. I continue to travel only 5-6 hours a day so I can choose the slower highways and get to campgrounds early. I left late, so I took the fast road to just past Quebec. I was disappointed at Pointe Aux Oies, the camp site was minuscule. Thank goodness I had brought the solo tent, it was the only one that fit. Regardless, I did have a site overlooking the St. Lawrence sea way. I didn't see a whale but I did see a few of the big ships.

This morning, I had the luxury of taking the slow road to Rivière du Loup. The 132 follows the coast, and is lined with beautiful towns with old stone houses or huge colonial style mansions and churches with spires reaching high into the sky. You have to drive slow so as not to have an accident as your head flips back and forth looking at the houses and the sea. Once past R de L, I did return to the main highway and it felt like I was flying. In no time, I reached Gagetown, where I am camped for the night. This is a pretty little camp site, with few people. I was hoping to paddle on Coy lake but its a 10 min walk to the lake side on a rugged trail. I won't get my kayak there on my own. So I am blogging for you all instead.

Goodnight and sweet dreams.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb