three weeks


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Fredericton
April 14th 2010
Published: April 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Three weeks from today I will be leaving on a jet plane for Ghana. It's hard for me to believe that it's so close because I am consumed with what has to be done now, such as school work(not that I really care about getting it done, unfortunately), finding an apartment to live in for September and participating in end of year activities.

At the moment I feel like I am too scatterbrained because of everything else that is going on to really write a good post about my current thoughts but I thought I would recap an Expectations & Anticipations exercise all of us Intercordians filled out during the last seminar we had...

What are the five things you are most looking forward to about your Intercordia experience abroad?
1. Dancing. It may sound a bit trivial but my first passion in life was dance and it will always hold a special place in my heart even though I am unable to do the same with it as I once use to. I've heard from past Intercordians that have been to Ghana that dancing will happen quite frequently. I'm ecstatic over the thought! I have also heard about the four hour church services I have to look forward to. I've been told by a friend that once you get back from the experience "church" in Africa there is a good chance you will be frustrated with the "church" is "done" back at home. I've always been a mover, a swayer if you will during worship services and I've heard the way in which Africans choose to praise comes from the inside and physically works its way out. I've never felt like I was bothering anyone or sticking out during church services by working things out physically, all I'm trying to say is that I'm stoked I won't be the only one 😊
2. Having a family. What can I say, I'm excited that I won't be living in a volunteer house or coming home to other volunteers but rather making that all so important human connection with my fam jam. Basically, I'm excited to become an insider, to feel as though I belong.
3. Being in Africa. Enough said.
4. Waking up with the sun. Needless to say, I'm a nighthawk. I prefer to stay up late and wake late and yes, I totally realize I am wasting my whole day. That's why I'm stoked to rise and set with the sun. That's the way things roll there and I'm delighted that my 'teenaged' body (that won't be teenaged for too much longer, three days!) is going to be forced to get back on track.
5. Getting comfortable with my body. I hope no one thinks less of me for writing this, and it may seem kind of obscure since I did do ballet, which is a pretty scantily clad art form. However, if you were to ask any of my 'dance-mates' they would tell you that I am the most self conscious person around. The way I see it is I am going to be partaking in an everyday way of life I am not use to (like using an outhouse along with bathing from a bucket daily) and am well aware that my definition of privacy is totally different with the Ghanaian definition of privacy (along with most 'normal' peoples.) What I'm trying to saying is I'm looking forward to getting over my self consciousness quickly. I might even get brave enough to wear a bathing suit when I frequent the beach!

What are the five things that currently worry you most about going overseas?
1. My worrying will get the best of me. Like I said I'm self conscious and the one thing I am worried about the most is my worrying. I'll be worried about what my host family thinks of me, worried if I'm doing anything wrong, worried about if I could be doing something more. Worried. I don't want to let my thoughts about myself hold me back from having the truest experience I possibly can. Period.
2. Gender roles. Every culture is different. I've read up as best I can about Ghanaian gender roles and I guess I wouldn't say I'm worried, but rather curious about what I find. With all of the reading I've done I've always been asked who is the voice of the writing: where are they from? why are the writing with that voice? etc. Some of the things I have read are from an insiders (both male and female) point of view and some are from an outsiders. It'll be interesting to see... well, what I see.
3. Teaching. I've only helped teach dance class and although I get by in school I am not one of those students who knows all the rules that goes into making a sentence and whatnot. I'm scared that I won't be adequate. It all goes back to my number one, worrying.
4. Disappointing my family. I don't want to do it! I don't want to be 'one of those' volunteers I've heard about.
5. Trivial things. Basically the logistics of my trip. What should/shouldn't I pack, aka all of the things I think I have control over, etc.

What are the five things )people, places, activities, etc.) you believe you will miss the most from home when you are abroad?
1. My fam jam, blood-related and heart related. I'ma miss my Mom and my brother, my Dad and Bonnie, Cricket and Mollie, my Nanny and all of my wonderful Aunts, Uncles and Cousins, and a list of friends too long to ever try to list. I'll miss them, You, because you are not just a part of my life, you are my life.
2. The ocean. In the words of the Rankin's, 'there's nothing like the ocean'. Well, there's nothing like my ocean. I'm crossing my fingers (or rather toes), that I'll have the opportunity dip them in the South-Atlantic.
3. Ice cream. Okay, this one is trivial, but I love the stuff.
4. Camp. I love me some Big Lake Camp, almost all of my best summer memories have been made there.
5. Regular summer activities. Chillin' at the park in Middleton, driving to Pearl's for a cone, mowing the lawn while listening to JP, it's the little things I'll miss the most I think.

What are the five things (people, places, activities, etc.) you believe you will miss least from home when you are abroad?
1. People that don't get me. I know, us people that want to save the world (which I don't by the way) are a little crazy, but I don't think I'm that crazy. I don't think I'm asking or striving for much, just some understanding for everyone. Why don't you give me some?
2. Everyday North American things that don't matter... or at least shouldn't. I'm beyond excited to function with much less. I will admit though, that I most likely will be purchasing a cellphone (unfortunately, for I don't ever want to own one) in order to keep in touch with my immediate family, but regardless, I'm bringing a 55L pack and a day pack and that's it. It scares me a bit that I am bringing so little, and I find it very interesting how attached to 'stuff' we get, but I am excited at the prospect of being able to say I lived out of a bag for three and a half months and realize that I can indeed function with the minimal.
3. Drama. I can't say there is much of it around me, but am excited to say "adios!" to the little bit of it nonetheless.
4. Having to be a responsible adult. I'm not saying I'm going to throw all caution to the wind, I'm just saying I'm excited to not have to worry about paying for school and making money for three and a half months. You can bet your bottom dollar however that as soon as I hit Canadian soil on the 15th I will frantically applying for that lovely thing called a student loan though.
5. Please don't hate me for this next one...the Valley. Before you decide to stop reading this, hear me out. It's is not the people, nor the place that I can't seem to handle but rather the ideals. Call me young, call me naive, call me whatever you like, but the Valley can be hard on those that want beyond the Valley lines. I feel like when I travel home for an extended period of time, there are boundaries in place that make me feel like there is little room for me to move, for me to breathe. But hey, I'm just an almost twenty year old and what do I know? Maybe I'm being ungrateful. Who knows.

And that's it.
That all being said, they are all part of my life and therefore will all be part of my journey. Maybe I won't miss ice cream that much and maybe I'll find myself a new appreciation for the Valley. I don't know, but I'll be soon (three weeks soon) finding out.

With much love,
kate.

Advertisement



14th April 2010

Good post, Kate, although didn't you leave the valley when you decided to go to university in Fredericton? I know Fredericton and Africa are a little bit different, but it seems like you just wanted to take a shot at the Valley. Not that I blame you though lol. I also like that being a responsible adult made the list of things you'll miss the least, not convinced you'll be able to avoid it by going to Africa, but let me know if it works.
14th April 2010

I get you!
You are a wonderful person Kate, go with your heart, I and MANY others love you for just who you are, rock on
14th April 2010

I Getcha Woman
The valley, Fredericton, Africa ... all very different places, all very different ideals and goals and people. Experiment with and experience all of them. As one valley girl to another, there's nothing wrong with getting away - it makes going back better, and if you don't want to, that's your choice. Go get 'em, woman!
15th April 2010

Beautiful
You are a person that embodies beauty inside and out and I know you will make a difference in people's lives where ever you go. I feel as though we are kindred spirits in many ways and I will miss you very much but I know that Africa is where you long to be so I hope you worry less and let the African people and way of life take over your beautiful spirit. Can't wait to follow your blog as you travel!
15th April 2010

que rica es la vida OR how rich life is
Dear Kate, Kate, One day when I was sitting alone in my room in Costa Rica I felt a little homesick and decided to listen to one of the Vinyl Cafe podcasts I had been saving for such occasions. And when, towards the end of the show, Stuart McLane said the following, my eyes welled up with tears. He said, "Life is rich wherever you live it."And it is dear friend. Ghana will be rich. Richer than can possibly be imagined, and I know in my heart of hearts that YOU, Kate Price, will appreciate this experience in way that no one else could.
15th April 2010

:)
Hi Kate.. while 'studying' for exams I stumbled across your blog. So happy to hear that you are going to Africa, I know its something you've been thinking about for a long time. I hope you have a safe trip- sounds like it will be an amazing learning experience.
27th April 2010

Kate, I have to say I admire you moreso than ever. Going to Africa is a big deal, and I can't think of anyone else that would handle it better than you. I would be a mess by this point, but you're so articulate and meticulous with your thoughts and aspirations. I admire that. I have to agree on the Valley point. You're probably the only other person I've met who feels that way! Have a ball in Ghana, Kate! You deserve it. Learn all that you can, bring it back, and share it with Canada.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb