More Clair


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » New Brunswick » Edmundston
October 1st 2012
Published: October 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sunday evening we made pizzas in Peter and Marielle’s outdoor pizza oven. So yummy! And filling. I ate only one and a half pieces but felt like I’d eaten a whole pizza.





It’s been very dry here this year and the river is way down. We’ve had light rain much of the time since we arrived and Sunday night it poured for many hours, but the river is still down; I’m sure it will take a great deal more than this for it to recover.





We’ve seen lots of wild life. There’s a blue heron we see regularly. We saw either beaver or muskrat this morning (too far away to be sure). And this morning there was a female moose on the island below the cabin! Unfortunately I didn’t get to my camera in time to get a photo of her.





Sunday afternoon I drove into Clair with Marielle to pick up something. There are about 30 homes for sale between the camp and Clair and this town has lost both its grocery stores recently. A couple of fairly large employers have closed down, too. It saddens me to see the town diminishing like this. I find myself hoping that something will come along to revive it. This is such beautiful country here. You’d think it would attract artists or writers. It’s remote enough to feel safe from turning into a commercial nightmare, but perhaps part of the problem is that most people probably have no idea what a gem is here.





Monday morning Peter and Marielle left early for work, and Roberta and I decided to come into town and do laundry and catch up on email.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Our pizza cookingOur pizza cooking
Our pizza cooking

They take about 5-6 minutes each


3rd October 2012

Envy
Can I come and visit too? What an amazing part of the country that I need to get in touch with! Orleen

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb