Best place to stay ever!!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
July 7th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hey, I'm back after my super long ferry ride, and super tiring day!! We got off the ferry at 3:15 am. Yay. I was beat, and it was pitch black out. Neither good riding conditions. Ferry trip was awesome!!! Spectacular!! Alaska marine highway is a must do!! Especially from Haines where we started. The views are amazing, and we got to see lots of marine life. Killer whales, humpback whales, seals, otters, bald eagles. A real treat!

There have been so many times during this trip that I've wished so much that I brought my real good camera with the big lense. I could have so many incredible shots right now! I guess I will have to settle for the imprints in my head! Lol.

I did really enjoy being on the water though. I do love it too.

I am pretty tired right now, but thought I would write quick before bed. Before arriving in Prince Rupert, our ferry stopped in Juneau, Petersburg, Wrangell, and Ketchican. We decided to get off in Juneau and have a little tour around. By the time we got a cab, which we shared with a family, and got going to city centre, we realized we were running short to time to eat or do whatever. On our list was also a beer run for the boat! Our taxi driver was very informative, and found us some big bald eagles along the way. We never went as far as we wanted before turning around and stopping in the bay to eat and buy our beer. It was still nice to know we had a short tour I guess while we had the opportunity. Otherwise while on the boat we spent a lot of our time outside even though it was chilly at times.

Today I was soooo tired during the first part of our ride, and paranoid animals were going to jump out in front of us. I had to try and keep myself entertained to keep my eyes open. Again we were surrounded by forests, mountains, water, and lushness. Rainy when we left, but never amounted too much. It was a nice ride, despite the exhaustion, and the weather improved the further east we went on the yellow head highway.

I booked us a cottage on a ranch on the outskirts of prince George about 25 kms outside of town, and 6 off the main highway. I could not say enough about this place, and our hostess Dagmar!! Exceeded my expectations!! A beautiful quaint cabin with our own 2 horses out back. They are on 300 acres here, nice and quiet. They have an awesome outdoor dugout fresh water swimming pool done right up,which was perfect to beat the heat and wake us up. I totally have to come back here again! They also have 2 other fancier cabins, but this one here ( the rustic one) is pretty kick ass itself! Fresh made cinnamon buns are awaiting us on the table, but we are saving them for the morning. We also did a nice walk around the property before our swim and cold beers on our private deck afterwards. Oh and before as well! Lol

Riding home tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



11th July 2012

Welcome home April
Welcome home!! I loved being able to follow you on your trip. I missed the last few days (got swept up in the stampede frenzy). Everything sounded so majestic and peaceful....a real adventure. Wow! I am so impresses at what you accomplished....good for you April! Congrats:)

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb