Settling into Vancouver


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
September 1st 2011
Published: October 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Lucille flew home to surprise her family for a 3 week visit so I explored Vancouver on my own for a bit... I started by organising all the practical things I needed to do; got a bank account, cell phone, Insurance number so I could work and printed my cv ready for action. This is where I decided to give myself one last fun trip before job hunting really begun. So I signed up to a one night tour to Whistler, a nearby skiing resort known to have beautiful views and mountains.

There was 16 of us on the tour and quickly learnt each others names through the ice breaker games and the drive out of the city. We stopped at Shannon Falls, which is the third largest falls in the state. It was pretty and we later stopped in a park for a short hike to view some of the surrounding scenery.

In whistler we were staying in what was the Winter 2010 Olympic athletes village which has now been turned into a plush hostel. We all pitched in to cooking dinner (included me and no one was ill! Whoop, must be getting better at it!) After which we headed into the village for drinks and a dance at the local nightclub.

The next day I enjoyed a lazy morning before heading into the village to explore the area. I went for coffee with two girls who are also undertaking the one year work permit so was nice to hear about their experiences. Later the whole group joined back together to head to the Lost Lake (don't think it's that lost as many people were sunbathing there.) we enjoyed sunbathing and listening to an orchestra practice for an event later that day.

At the end of the trip I swapped numbers with the girls staying for a year and headed back to the city hostel. On their notice board was a job advert for weekend staff for Skydive Vancouver (self explanatory company name). I adjusted my cv, printed it and dropped it off in their shop to be called the next day to see if I could attend an interview. I quickly went shopping to buy some more formal-not-been-travelling-for-6-months clothes and felt optimistic for the day ahead. The interview was very surreal. I figured the job was given quite quickly, apparently my cv stood out by miles and I was being taught how to run things more than questions on my experience and skills. Within 30minutes of being there I was asked if I wanted to make a jump - No doubt about it! I changed out of my over dressed clothes into a jump suit and next thing I know I going up 10,000 feet to be hurled out of a plane, strapped to my new boss. It was incredible, such fun and was able to enjoy vast views on a clear day.

Afterwards they asked if I wanted to stay for turkey dinner and a swim. I didn't have my costume so just stayed for the dinner but enjoyed the company and delicious food. I was to start training the next day and the day after that I would be managing the shop all on my own!




Sent from my iPod

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb