Mile Zero


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=5E2vLx1lyLg]
Beavercreek,, BCBeavercreek,, BCBeavercreek,, BC

Sometimes you just have to...
I left Grand Prairie at about 8 o'clock Monday morning bound for Dawson Creek, BC. The 130 km ride was very enjoyable, there was not a cloud to be seen and the temperature was about 10 C. The single lane highway was in good shape and provided a few wildlife sightings, a deer that got a little too close and what I think was either a wolf or a large coyote.

Pat R stayed behind to get a new tire for the back of his ride. At 10:30, I received a text message from him telling me that he had located one and would be on his way in about an hour.

In the meantime I set out to explore Dawson Creek, which is the official start of the Alaska Highway. The highway has a very interesting story to it, it was built during the 2nd World War by the US military as a means of supplying outposts in Alaska. There was an urgency to it because the Japanese military had taken the Aleutian Islands off the coast of Alaska and there was a real fear that they would make it to North America. The Canadian Government, authorized the
Dawson Creek, BCDawson Creek, BCDawson Creek, BC

Entering the world famous Alaska Highway.
construction on the condition that the road be turned over to Canada after the war. Pretty good deal I would say!

So the first thing I located was the tourism office where I also found the first of 2 historic sign. This one said "You are entering the Alaska Highway" and sports a large arrow pointing north. I stopped for my mandatory photos with the sign and while I was busy with that, saw a MotoGuzzi pull in with German plates. Never being one to miss an opportunity to practice my German, I spoke to the couple who flew their 85 Guzzi from Munich to Vancouver. I got a few tips from them in that regard in preparation of my 2013 trip!

Once the Germans and I were done with pictures of the 1st sign, we headed for the 2nd one, the actual mile zero marker. It's located in the centre of a fairly busy intersection and not really set up for people to take photos of themselves with a motorcycle. But with a little international cooperation, everyone got their picture.

I grabbed some lunch and headed back to the tourism office and their wi-fi area to
Mile ZeroMile ZeroMile Zero

It begins...
wait for Pat R who had let me know he wa on his way, just shortly before noon. We are headed for Liard River today and the hot springs. Will likely be our first night of camping.

I have a few pictures to tide you over until I get into the really spectacular scenery. I also added a video to the previous entry.

Advertisement



12th June 2009

Quite a Beaver!
Hey 2-Pats. Hope everything is going well and the weather is cooperating. Thanks for the e-mail, I will follow your progress and keep wishing I was along for the adventure. That was quite a beaver you got a picture of. Good luck!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb