Camping in the Kootenays


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia
May 26th 2006
Published: May 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

China Air flight 808China Air flight 808China Air flight 808

I usually forget that I look different
I returned home for my sister's wedding but since I gave my boss the slip, I thought it best to tack on a few extra days for a road trip with my good friend Marci, coffee with my highschool chum Cathy, a hot date in the West End, a stroll through Stanley Park and a little shopping at Metrotown and Robson Street for my summer wardrobe. I fit XL in Japan but in Canada I'm medium. It's a very nice feeling when you go down two sizes over night.

Strange things I felt/saw being home again.
1. First afternoon, riding my bike through a quiet neighbourhood, I passed a middle aged caucasian couple. First thought in my head was, "oh! gaijin (foreigners)!"
2. BC Transit fare has increased more than a dollar. Still, it's bloody affordble. Same trip in Japan would cost 3x as much
3. In Vancouver, the number of Starbucks' outlets continues to increase
4. Bumped into a boy I coached five years back. He now stood two feet taller, stocking the shelves at Chapters.
5. All these books are in English!!! (Chapters) Hey there's a Starbuck's in here - and one across the street.
6. April
Vancouver Island rangeVancouver Island rangeVancouver Island range

looking north from the plane
showers bring May flowe- showers. This weather sucks
7. Mmm, the ocean. smells great
8. Mmm, fresh cut lawns. smells like rain and sunshine's love child
9. "there are more blacks and metro sexuals in Vancouver now." -Lana (Vancouver has arrived)
10. there are a lot of luxury SUVs, doesn't anyone notice the rise in gasoline prices? CO2 anybody?
11. My sister has traded in her sports car for an SUV!
12. My family is getting older - this was the most striking realization




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Vancouver IslandVancouver Island
Vancouver Island

bottom left: Carmannah Valley
Heritage home, Boundary BayHeritage home, Boundary Bay
Heritage home, Boundary Bay

seeing my hometown with new eyes
Beach GroveBeach Grove
Beach Grove

west coast suburban design: advanced beaver skills
Beach GroveBeach Grove
Beach Grove

houses made of wood and trees in the yard - almost unheard of in Japan
Beach GroveBeach Grove
Beach Grove

... and a white picket fence
BC transitBC transit
BC transit

601 S. Delta, the suburb commuter
blade hockey, Sunset Beachblade hockey, Sunset Beach
blade hockey, Sunset Beach

foreshore: Children's Festival, Vanier Park
Cathy, Granville South RiseCathy, Granville South Rise
Cathy, Granville South Rise

next time we're boycotting the snobby creperie joint. There food is crepe anyways!
Crow's Nest Hwy Crow's Nest Hwy
Crow's Nest Hwy

Pine forest, Princeton
Crows Nest HwyCrows Nest Hwy
Crows Nest Hwy

Pine Beetle devistation
Crows Nest Hwy, KeremeosCrows Nest Hwy, Keremeos
Crows Nest Hwy, Keremeos

Fruit Stand - a few weeks more until another summer of fruit picking in the Okanagan-Similkameen: peaches, pears, plums, cherries
Before & After, KeremeosBefore & After, Keremeos
Before & After, Keremeos

wrecking yard, Crows Nest Hwy
Osoyoos LakeOsoyoos Lake
Osoyoos Lake

viewpoint, Crows Nest Hwy - southern tip of Okanagan Valley, famed for its vineyards and orchards


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb